Whitehall-Coplay Press

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

District 11 wrestling tourney this weekend

Thursday, February 1, 2018 by Peter Car pcar@tnonline.com in Sports

The District 11 team wrestling championships will kick off on Thursday and concludes Saturday at Freedom.

Bethlehem Catholic enters the 3A tournament as the top seed and the clear favorite to win the district crown as they open Thursday’s action at 7:30 p.m. against the winner of the eight-nine matchup between Easton and Freedom. Those matches will take place at Liberty.

Fifth-seeded Stroudsburg will more than likely face fourth-seeded Northampton in Thursday’s other half of the upper bracket, as the Mounties take on twelfth-seeded Whitehall in the opening round.

The bottom of the bracket has action taking place at Nazareth and Liberty, as the Hurricanes come in as the second-seed and square off against Blue Mountain (7) or East Stroudsburg South (10) at 7:30 p.m. inside Memorial Gymnasium.

Nazareth is the third-seed and will host either Pottsville (6) or Bangor (11).

Semifinal action for the 3A bracket takes place at 10:45 a.m. on Saturday morning at Freedom with Becahi looking like a lock to move on to the 5:30 p.m. finals. Liberty and Nazareth appear to be headed toward a dramatic semifinal showdown as well.

If needed, the true second place matchup will take place at 7:30 p.m.

In 2A, Saucon Valley is the top-seed and will take on Notre Dame Green Pond (8) or Tamaqua (9) in action at Northampton. Fourth-seeded Lehighton awaits either Mahanoy Area (5) or Palisades (12) in the other portion of the bracket with those matches taking place at Panther Valley.

The bottom of the bracket has Wilson as the second-seed, as they will be at Nazareth waiting for the winner of Pine Grove (7) and Pen Argyl (10).

Northwestern enters as the third-seed, as they will meet Panther Valley (6) or Catasauqua (11). Those bouts will be at Panther Valley as well.

The 2A winners then follow the same format on Saturday at Freedom with semis taking place at 10:45 a.m.

Finals get underway at 5:30 p.m. with a true second place bout to follow at 7:30 p.m. if needed.