Whitehall-Coplay Press

Thursday, November 14, 2019

School board makes approvals for 2019-20 academic year

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by Erin Thomas Special to The Press in Local News

At the Whitehall-Coplay School Board meeting July 8, members approved the Community Services for Children Inc. Pre-K Counts program at Steckel Elementary School for the 2019-20 school year.

Also approved by the board was a lease and maintenance agreement for six photocopiers and an agreement for PaperCut software with Edwards Business Systems; an agreement with D’Huy Engineering for construction management services for the new elementary school project; a proposal with R&J Carpet Connection to replace carpet in Steckel Elementary’s pit area; an agreement with Johnson Controls for the replacement of ductless air conditioning units for the athletic field house; and a proposal with ACM Associates for asbestos removal at Whitehall-Coplay Middle School.

Members approved the resignations of Jason Grear, from Future Business Leaders of America Club at Whitehall High School; Bobbi-Jo Lindenmuth, cafeteria worker at WCMS; and Kyle Kremposky, school bus mechanic at the transportation department.

New appointments include temporary professionals Debra Resh, WCMS nurse, at the rate of $50,721, Sarah Peterson, WHS English teacher, at the rate of $49,805, and Kaitlyn Kanusky, kindergarten teacher at Gockley Elementary School, at the rate of $49,345; and salaried substitutes Miranda Dangler, WCMS English teacher, at the rate of $49,345, Katie Lantaff, WHS guidance counselor, at the rate of $52,666, and Nicole Morin, WHS math teacher, at the rate of $49,345.

Other appointments include Nicole Smith, WHS secretary, at the rate of $33,109; Susan Faulkenstein, Steckel math paraprofessional, at $18.03 per hour; Daad Timson, Zephyr Elementary math paraprofessional, at $18.03 per hour; Jennifer Tarantino, WCMS cafeteria worker, at $13.25 per hour; Kawthar Younes, Gockley Elementary cafeteria worker, at $13.25 per hour; and Lorraine Kline and Jack Moyer, cafeteria monitors at WCMS, at $13 per hour.

Coaches and assistants approved for the 2019-20 school year include Victoria Munn, cheerleading, at $2,454; Micheal Fabian, Adam Marakovits and Rhiannon Sorrentino, cross-country, at $2,046; Gabrielle Smith, field hockey, at $2,454; Tevrin Brandon, Timothy Churchill, Justin Kondikoff, Peter Kreisher, Dennis Roman, Samuel Senneca, Thomas Wills and Micheal Yadush, WHS football, at $5,044; Eric Hatch, Chad Stefanyak and A-sar Long II, WHS football, at $2,522; Steve Piston and James Sebesta, WCMS football, at $5,044; Scott Schmalzer, WCMS football, at $2,522; Trajano Bastidas and Todd Covert, boys soccer, at $1,227; Ashley Koren, girls soccer, at $2,454; Tennille Colbert, girls tennis, at $2,046; Douglas Barriner, girls volleyball, at $2,454; Tabitha Ferraira, WCMS cheerleading, at $2,454; Alexis Freedman and Justice Mousseau, WCMS cheerleading, at $1,227; and Katelynn Strohl, WCMS girls volleyball, at $2454.

Volunteer assistant coaches include Nicole Meleta, cheerleading; Erinn Bonshak and James Kurtz, field hockey; Jamyl Aminu, George Cowitch, William Edwards, Nathan Hoenl, Rashod Knight, George Makhoul and Micheal Smith, football; Anthony Genevese, WCMS football; Abigail Gunman, Photis Zographou, Adam Bastidas and Brandon Levano, boys soccer; Scott Cullen, girls soccer; and Olivia Bobyak, Jaclyn Smith and Madison Scarfaro, girls volleyball.

The school board will hold committee meetings on education/student activities, operations/transportation and finance/personnel 4 p.m. Aug. 26. The next school board meetings will be 7 p.m. Aug. 12 and Sept. 9.