Whitehall-Coplay Press

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

CWSA reorganizes for 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 by PAUL CMIL Special to The Press in Local News

At the first meeting of the new decade, held Jan. 16, Coplay Whitehall Sewer Authority reorganized its slate of officers and support staff. There were no surprises, as all officers and staff remained in place.

The board re-elected John Schreiner as chairman, James Hahn as vice chairman, Paul Geissinger as secretary, Joseph Marx as public relations/community affairs, Joseph Bonshak as treasurer, Paul Boyle as assistant treasurer and James Roth as assistant secretary.

CWSA will retain the services of SSM Group and its engineering representative, Darryl Jenkins. Management and staff will remain in place.

The board announced Whitehall Township appointed Marx to another five-year term on the CWSA board.

For the first capital improvement project of 2020, Jenkins opened bids for the Eberhart Road station’s motor control center. The project was awarded to Diefenderfer Electrical. The bid of $187,600 was the lowest of six bidders. Ten contractors were invited to bid.

Members of the board questioned some of the cost allocations among the bidders. The price from the lowest to the highest bidder was less than 5 percent of the project.

The lowest bidders did not mark up the material costs. The bid was tentatively approved, pending final review, by Jenkins.

In other news, CWSA made a $1,000 donation to Coplay Recreation & Welfare Association’s food bank and a $1,000 donation to Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative.

Schreiner also announced he received positive reports from each committee member on the functioning of the distribution network and the wastewater treatment facility.