Whitehall-Coplay Press

Friday, June 5, 2020

Whitehall discusses fire engine purchase

Wednesday, May 6, 2020 by CASSANDRA DAYOUB in Local News

Custom aerial vehicle would replace department’s 25-year-old truck

The Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners met virtually May 4 to discuss ongoing developments in the community.

By utilizing the Cisco Webex platform, the entire board was present with both visual and audio communication. Community members were also able to attend the viewing session, and there was a question-and-answer box that encouraged their participation.

‘The basement with no name’

Wednesday, April 22, 2020 by CASSANDRA DAYOUB in Local News

Lehigh Valley deejay entertains with Facebook Live parties

The weekend is notoriously put on reserve for rest and relaxation. We’d seek solitude in the mornings and rage in the evenings to grasp a glimpse of what life is all about.

With the COVID-19 pandemic sweeping our streets, the community has begun innovating new ways to maintain connectedness while remaining safe at home.

Lehigh Valley deejay Freddie Frederick Jr. keeps the crowd fed by broadcasting jams on Facebook Live from his basement. Frederick, who is the successor of Lehigh Valley legend Frantic Freddie, has been mixing sets for more than 35 years.

Developer continues sidewalks dispute

Wednesday, February 5, 2020 by CASSANDRA DAYOUB in Local News

Whitehall board maintains stance on importance of pedestrian safety

Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners reviewed eight ordinances, many dealing with road construction and pedestrian safety, at its workshop meeting Feb. 3.

Bohler Engineering officials, representing developer MRP Industrial, requested several deferrals, all centralizing around the required installation of curbs and sidewalks along 3585 S. Church St. This location, once a Bon-Ton distribution center, is now under reconstruction by MRP Industrial, which would prefer the area not draw pedestrian activity.

Whitehall Township board reorganizes

Wednesday, January 8, 2020 by CASSANDRA DAYOUB in Local News

The Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners held its first meeting of the new year Jan. 6.

Larissa Bruder, executive secretary to the township mayor, led the oath of office for the newly elected board members. Randy Atiyeh, Philip J. Ginder, Charles G. Fisher and Jeffrey J. Warren were sworn in, while board veterans Joseph J. Marx Jr. and Thomas Slonaker observed.

Mayor Michael P. Harakal Jr. was also sworn in during the meeting.

Ginder was elected president of the board. Marx was elected vice president. Slonaker was re-elected secretary.