Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Leiner supporter: ‘It’s time for change’

To the Editor:

I have known Bill Leiner Jr. all my life. As children, we played together. As teenagers, we raised a little hell together. And, as adults, we worked at Bethlehem Steel together.

For as long as I can remember, Bill has always had a passion for politics. More importantly, he has always had a compassion for the little guy — the working man. And, as the son of a 95-year-old Pearl Harbor survivor, I know Bill would never do anything to dishonor his father.

Another view

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whichever holiday you celebrate, make it a good one

On Oct. 13 during the Values Voter Summit in Washington, President Donald Trump said, “We’re saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again.”

I didn’t realize the White House and Americans stopped saying this. We didn’t actually. At our workplaces, at our churches, at our family and friends’ gatherings, and even at department stores, we still say “Merry Christmas.”

The perils of cancer treatment

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

My strong advice to anyone going through chemotherapy treatment, or about to go through it, is listen to professional advice and heed any research you may uncover.

I finished my second chemotherapy treatment Oct. 4. I personally didn’t think the treatment varied much from the first until a few days later.

Rather than try to be as active as I possibly could, much of what I did involved sleeping a great deal. The excess sleep ultimately led to a short hospital stay — luckily, a stay of only a few days.

Resilience: the art of bouncing back

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sometimes I ask my adult children questions and really fear the answers. There is something about that kind of suspense, I suppose. So I did it again this summer when we are all together.

“What was the worst thing I ever did as a parent?” I asked them.

They responded all too quickly. Worse than that, all three of them had the same answer.

“You sent us to that after-school program when all our friends were able to go home,” they declared almost in unison.

Musings from Middle School

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

When the 2017-18 school year began, we, the Northampton Area Middle School English department, knew we wanted opportunities for our students that would allow them to understand that writing was relevant to their lives beyond school. In partnering with the Northampton Press, we were able to establish a relationship with a community stakeholder to share and publish some of our students’ writing — hence our section, Musings from Middle School.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Children can remind us of the importance of being thankful

When you want to see the good through the bad, when you want to truly experience positivity in a world of judgment and negativity, always talk to a child.

Kids have this amazing sense of optimism. Their untainted outlook on life can be a refreshing reminder that there is good in this world.

another view

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Snapchat — fun or dangerous?

Snapchat is a quickly growing social media platform that allows people to send pictures or short videos, called snaps, to friends. The most popular feature is that these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear. It’s great for people like me who insist their pets are the cutest but don’t want to inundate Facebook and Instagram with cat pictures for fear of being a bother. Instead, I just take a quick photo of my kittens, send it to a few interested friends — and then it’s gone.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The gift that keeps giving must be the right fit

If you have ever loved and lost a pet, you will understand my family’s hesitation in getting another pet.

I’ve written about my pets before — a 16-1/2-year-old Old English Sheepdog and an indoor shelter cat we had for more than 16 years. Both pets died recently within six months of each other. We have been in mourning.

My editorials in the past have been about understanding the responsibilities of pet ownership before acquiring a pet for yourself or as a gift for someone else.

Stereotype of working poor often untrue

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

There are many working poor people living right here in Whitehall and Coplay. Sad as it is, this is virtually everywhere in the United States today. Let me try to explain what is happening.

Pennsylvania’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current federal minimum wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Pennsylvania with limited exceptions, including tipped employees, some student workers and other exempt occupations.

The Pennsylvania minimum wage was last changed in 2008, when it was raised $0.10 from $7.15 to $7.25.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

School taxes continue to be burden on seniors

To the Editor:

Northampton Area School District has decided to replace Lehigh Elementary School with a new building complex.

While I don’t know the details, I will accept the fact there is a need for some kind of improvement and/or maintenance upgrades. But is that because things might have been neglected for too long? It does seem odd that the price of renovations is so close to the price of new construction. Usually, renovation costs are much less than new construction costs.