Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Another view

Wednesday, August 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Veterans suffer from invisible wounds

My name is Julia Fritz, and I worked as the summer intern at the Lehigh Valley Press’ eight weekly newspapers.

I graduated from Allentown Central Catholic High School and am currently a rising junior at Muhlenberg College, majoring in media and communications with a double minor in Spanish and creative writing.

I have always loved to write, and I wanted to explore the different career paths I could take with my interests, so I inquired about an internship with the Lehigh Valley Press.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, August 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Saying good riddance to No Child Left Behind

When school doors open later this month or right after Labor Day, the controversial No Child Left Behind Act will be on its way out, and the Every Student Succeeds Act will be on its way in, although full implementation will not begin until the 2018-19 school year.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

According to the U.S. Department of Education, this bipartisan measure reauthorizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act, the national education law and long-standing commitment to equal opportunity for all students.

Another View

Wednesday, August 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Is keeping a pet ethical?

I recently started reading the book “Run, Spot, Run” by Jessica Pierce, a bioethicist, after reading an interview where she discussed the ethics of keeping a pet.

In an Aug. 1 theguardian.com article, “Should We Stop Keeping Pets? Why More and More Ethicists Say Yes,” by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie, Pierce said she began questioning the idea of pet ownership after she saw a man bring a tub of live baby rats to her local pet store, as she was purchasing crickets for her daughter’s gecko.

The world is our classroom

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

I am a lifelong student. I try to learn something new every day. No, I don’t sit in a classroom semester after semester, year after year or take courses on the Internet; although, I would enjoy both of those pursuits, too.

I always loved school, from first grade through grad school. To me, the whole world is a gigantic classroom, full of fascinating free lessons for all of us. Some folks partake of this wonderful opportunity to gain more knowledge, while others pass up the chance.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Allen Township is no longer rural

To the Editor:

We have two current critical problems in Allen Township.

Problem 1 — more warehouses are coming to Allen Township (Route 329 and Howertown, Seemsville and Weaversville roads will be disasters). How nice.

The residents don’t want it, but big money (Jaindl, Liberty Property Trust, Rockefeller Group, etc.) does and could care less about the local residents. Just ask the residents of the Macungie and Alburtis areas. And, if the residents and the township say, “No,” we get sued.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Coming together to support a colleague

The world was rocked July 19 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., had been diagnosed with a primary brain tumor known as glioblastoma following a procedure to remove a blood clot from above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

“The senator and his family are reviewing further treatment options with his Mayo Clinic care team. Treatment options may include a combination of chemotherapy and radiation,” according to a statement by Mayo Clinic released July 19.

Another view

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Engage your child’s mind this summer

Ahhh … it’s the summer — when kids rejoice in having no homework, assignments and school responsibilities for a few months.

But is that really a good thing? A New York Times op-ed contributor says no, it’s not, according to a July 27, 2011, article.

Jeff Smink said, “If students are not engaged in learning over the summer, they lose skills in math and reading. Summers off are one of the most important, yet least acknowledged, causes of underachievement in our schools.”

Guest view

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by CAROL OBANDO-DERSTINE in Opinion

Have a cool, cost-effective season

It’s a simple equation: The less you spend on energy during the heat of summer, the more you have to spend on lemonade, pool passes, ice cream and road trips to the beach. So how do you make that happen?

We’re glad to share the following tips for a cool but cost-effective summer. Many of these will work for businesses, too.

If you have air conditioning, don’t set it lower than normal when you first turn it on. That won’t cool your home or business any faster, and it could cost you more.