Whitehall-Coplay Press

Monday, April 6, 2020

Guest View

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The fight against COVID-19 is a war

War and conflict have been a ceaseless part of human history. The battle against the COVID-19 virus is an enemy no nation has ever met. COVID-19 never tires, COVID-19 ceaselessly attacks, and COVID-19 is a survivor. COVID-19 is an awesome enemy, but like all enemies in all wars, COVID-19 will be defeated.

In the battle to defeat COVID-19, there are an amazing number of organizations adopting military-style principles to defeat the diseases and win the war for human health.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Four little words

It is a scene being played across the nation, the county and the Lehigh Valley.

Employees may be asked to gather in the corporation auditorium, meet in smaller groups in a conference room or large office, close the door behind them as they cross the threshold of their immediate supervisor’s office.

Some gatherings may need to wait for an owner or company CEO or upper-level manager to appear. Nervous whispers may be exchanged.

Throats are cleared.

And then the words, heard frequently right now, are spoken.

“You are laid off.”

Another View

Wednesday, March 25, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all in this together’

My last Another View opinion piece was published Feb. 5 and 6 in The Press newspapers. The headline — “Coronavirus is not what you should be worried about in U.S.”

I was wrong.

I never thought our country would see the troubles it currently is having.

The actions being taken to combat COVID-19 is disrupting every part of American lives — work, education, places of worship, hospitals, businesses for leisurely activities, family and friend gatherings and more.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’

There’s a saying, We plan, and God laughs.

News of COVID-19, the new strain of the coronavirus, creeping ever closer to our neighborhoods has brought much anxiety to our lives. Add to that the cancellations of community activities, some of which we rely on to bring happiness and a sense of calm.

Daily we find ourselves looking for ways to keep our loved ones safe.

This requires some planning. But for so many, this planning can be overwhelming — even seemingly impossible.

Election Policy

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers

As we approach the April 28 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Their secrets are not safe with us

Most of us prefer sunshine. It’s rare to hear someone say, “That was a nice, cloudy day.”

We’re invigorated by a glorious sunrise and spend hours outdoors on brilliantly sunny days.

As John Denver so succinctly sang, “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.”

In journalism, the reference to sunshine takes on an equally important meaning. Each year in March, news media organizations across the country celebrate Sunshine Week.

Another View

Wednesday, March 11, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

COVID-19 concerns impact St. Patrick’s Day in home country

St. Patrick’s Day is a celebration of the patron saint of Ireland and his fabled expulsion of the snakes from the country.

Once upon a time, the day was celebrated with church services and simple parties. When Irish immigrants came to America, they used the day to mark their heritage with big celebrations. Now, the holiday features parades, parties and all things green.

The large celebrations have even spread back to the holiday’s home country of Ireland. The St. Patrick’s Day festivities in Dublin, Ireland’s capital, are well known and well attended.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 4, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

One thing leads to another ...

Well, the roof started leaking the day of the heavy rain at the end of January.

If it wasn’t for stepping in the puddle on the bedroom floor, I would not have looked up to see the telltale water marks on the ceiling.

That meant a trip up the stairs to the attic.

However, before being able to do that, I had to remove the bins full of clothes and Christmas decorations that didn’t quite make it all the way up to the attic and were precariously stacked on the steps.

Another view

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Protecting one’s self from scammers

Everyday, people are scammed for their money or personal information.

Scammers will go to any length, such as using regular mail, email, the telephone and social media to prey on people’s fears and heartstrings to con them.

After receiving a voice mail last Friday stating a lawsuit had been filed against me for tax fraud from a phone number I didn’t recognize, I began researching the number on the Internet.

The phone number, it turns out, is connected to an IRS tax scam.