Whitehall-Coplay Press

Monday, June 26, 2017

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate. My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden, and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher,” “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.

Another View

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Global approach necessary to combat climate change’s environmental effects

On June 1, President Donald Trump announced he was withdrawing the United States from the Paris Climate Agreement, saying the agreement is less about the climate and more about other countries gaining a financial advantage over the United States.

So, what is the Paris Climate Agreement and what are its terms?

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Get rid of “vulgar” programs

To the Editor:

Thank you and “ditto” from me to Mr. Bruce Frassinelli for his opinion article in the May 4 issue of The Press. I have been wanting the courage to lash out at someone for a long time but did not know how to address the vulgar, obscene, profane programming on TV and the radio lyrics played today.

I don’t call it music. It is noise pollution. It is everywhere — malls, grocery stores, restaurants and outdoor areas where someone like me would just like to sit quietly, read and enjoy scenery.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a matter of trust

I am having a hard time watching television these days, and I suspect many are in the same situation. The Hallmark Channel has now become my “go to” station.

To me, it seems we have lost our sense of trust, decency, manners and security.

Recently, this is just some of what we have been exposed to:

• A comedian holding an inappropriate image of our president

• People physically removed from planes, because of overbooking

• Concert-goers, travelers and people attempting to enjoy their lives hurt or killed by ISIS

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It’s not a paucity of voters; it’s a disregard by politicians for voters

To the Editor:

The recent Guest View by Bill Leiner Jr. concerning the paucity of voters emphasizes the arrogance and disregard politicians hold for citizens. Over half of our hard-earned dollars go to support politicians’ insatiable need to buy votes. If two family members are working, one of you is a government slave.

What do you get for your mandatory contribution?

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, May 31, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A black day for many music fans and their parents

Dear reader:

Here we are again.

Eleven months ago, headlines blared the horrific news of dozens killed in the Pulse nightclub while enjoying a night out and the senseless murder of singer and reality show contestant Christina Grimmie, shot while signing autographs and chatting with fans after a performance, crimes happening within days of each other in Florida.

In an editorial around that time (“The future of the future was now,” June 15, 2016), I tried to call attention to the futures of so many young people cut short.

Christina Grimmie was 22.

Life’s burdens need not defeat us

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 by WHENEVER I SEE AN AD OR A LABEL PROCLAIMING, “ONE SIZE FITS ALL,” I KNOW THE ITEM WILL FIT ALMOST NOBODY — AT LEAST IT WON’T FIT VERY WELL. in Opinion

I get the same feeling when I hear cliché phrases meant to encourage or sympathize.

Recently, I heard a woman tell an acquaintance who had just lost her 11-year-old son, “God never gives us more burdens than we can bear.”

The bereaved mother became irate.

“I disagree. This is much more than I can handle,” she retorted.

She was probably right. I have seen many people burdened with horrible problems far too heavy for one person’s shoulders.

And that’s the key, according to a friend who is battling cancer for the third time.

Another view

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A home away from home

This is my first Another View column since coming back to Pennsylvania from Florida. No, it wasn’t a vacation. My husband and I adopted a beautiful baby boy, Benjamin, who was born March 21 — three weeks early.

We had been in the general adoption process for about a year and had waited around six and a half months to be matched with a birth mother. Two days before Christmas, we got “the call” from our caseworker that a woman who viewed our adoption profile thought we were the ones. On March 21, he was born 10:10 p.m., and we flew down early in the morning to meet our greatest joy.

Letter to the editor:

Wednesday, May 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We should have one organization: Scouting

To the Editor:

Many years ago, when I was a Scoutmaster of a troop, I could not get any help. So I asked if I could have some willing Den mothers from the Cub Scout pack to help with the Boy Scout troop.

I was told that Boy Scouts was for men and boys only.

Well, after a few years, we all know how that turned out. With the way so many in America feel about equality, I think we should just have Scouting — boys and girls together learning the same skills for the most part.