Whitehall-Coplay Press

Thursday, April 25, 2019

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

On-the-job training may produce valuable life lessons

Before it was a “thing” to do, my mother took me to work.

At the time, she worked for what was Pet Frozen Foods on Downyflake Lane in Allentown. In my childhood understanding of manufacturing, waffles were made there.

My mom had worked at Pet for several years on different shifts and was at the time on the overnight shift, which meant she was home in the afternoon when my siblings and I got home from school. A selling point, she said.

I am not really sure why she took me to work that day. It probably involved me asking repeatedly to go.

Another View

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To celebrate Earth Day, what will you do to impact our world?

If you’re like me, you’re enjoying the warmer weather that comes with spring and anticipating the really warm days of summer. One thing I don’t enjoy is the buzzing I hear swarming around me when I’m outside at an event or playing with my son in the backyard. Although I have a fear of bees — I’ll save the traumatic childhood experience for another time — I know how important they are to plants, our environment and even the economy.

Living the Vintage Years: These four words can make a caregiver’s day

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

When the phone rang one midmorning, I considered not answering it. A bit overwhelmed by my caregiving tasks, I was not in the mood to deal with sales calls or surveys.

But I answered it anyway — and I am glad I did. A retired friend, Nancy, told me she was out and about doing errands.

“Do you need anything?” she asked.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

College scam shows parents’ lack of faith in children’s abilities

The court system is ably handling the parents involved in Operation Varsity Blues and the man behind the scam to influence college admissions decisions at some prestigious American universities.

It’s now time to stop talking about those who’ve allegedly committed the crimes and start thinking about all those who’ve been negatively impacted by their actions.

Another View

Wednesday, April 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

As the saying goes, ‘April showers bring May flowers’

Not only do April showers give life to flowers, they also bring a host of hazards and concerns. Spring weather can be unpredictable. The temperatures swing back and forth between cool and hot.

Mark Twain once said, “In the spring, I have counted 136 kinds of weather inside of four and twenty hours.”

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ privacy takes flight like mythology’s winged horse

The reality of author George Orwell’s “1984” hit me one night when I coughed while sleeping.

A voice from my smartphone, which was on a nearby table, replied to the sound I had just made saying it was sorry, but it did not understand what I had just said.

The phone had been listening to me just like the telescreens of Orwell’s dystopian novel.

Egads! I wonder if I ever talked in my sleep.

Another View

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Every day should be devoted to healthy nutrition

For months, I have been looking for a good nutritional plan/diet I can follow that would help me change my poor eating habits; however, choosing one has not been easy.

Even after months of researching different plans, I am more confused by the nutritional information I have read on the Internet.

As I still have not found one that fits all my specific nutritional goals, I opted to begin eating healthy, nutritious foods in March.

And, what better timing, as March is National Nutrition Month.

Fighting Hunger: Pantry, food bank here to help battle food insecurity in area

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

Whitehall Food Pantry and Coplay Recreation & Welfare Association Food Bank provide much-needed food for our residents. As you have heard me say many times before, no one in this country, as rich as we are, should ever be hungry. This really bothers me and so many others.

Food insecurity in America was almost wiped out due to provisions President Lyndon Johnson’s administration put into law back in the 1960s. Sadly, 50 years later, we still have food insecurity. I’ll get off my soapbox and save this story for another day.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ responsibility is to seek the truth for the public

Freedom of the press should never be taken for granted.

As we celebrate Sunshine Week, a national initiative designed to educate the public about the importance of open government and the dangers of excessive and unnecessary secrecy, this is the opportunity to remind us all that truth-seeking journalism is alive and well and should be celebrated.

Journalists, as the eyes and ears of the public, rely on public access laws to keep you informed, and great reporting begins with government transparency.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?’

I don’t want an automatic pet feeder.

I wouldn’t mind making engraved items at home or receiving a luxury car rental coupon.

“Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?” was in my email today. I don’t want to be fat. Do they think I’m fat?

Yes, I want to sleep better, and I don’t need a levitating moon lamp.

And yes, today, I received several messages on how to safely remove earwax.

Did I ask for these messages? Absolutely not.