Whitehall-Coplay Press

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Editor’s View

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Decluttering is good for our health, happiness

Thank you all who commented on my Oct. 17 Editor’s View on dealing with our Generation Y, Z and millennial family members. It is good to know I am not alone in my frustration with our younger generation not wanting “things” — instead wanting experiences.

Since that Editor’s View, conversations have continued with the fact our children and grandchildren will not want our things when we are gone.

I am a person who sees the value of and appreciates the connection with things from my grandparents that my youngest has already said he will not want.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

When the snow is glistening in the lane, be prepared

You know it is bad when a tweet like this appears in your feed.

“Statewide PENNDOT update. Speed Restrictions. The speed limit has been reduced to 45 mph throughout PA.”

Twitter users received that message Nov. 15 from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation when a powerful snowstorm blasted into the state.

Drivers experienced the pounding weather firsthand.

Area roadways went from snow dusted to covered to dangerously slippery in what seemed like a flash.

Roads and highways closed.

Another View

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering our blessings in these uncertain times

Thank goodness. It is finally Thanksgiving, and Christmas is right around the corner. That means it is publicly acceptable for me to watch the holiday movie “Miracle on 34th Street.” (I may or may not have started to watch this film before Halloween. Don’t ask my husband.)

Editor’s View

Wednesday, November 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcards, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.

Another View

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remember why we celebrate

Veterans Day celebrates all who served our country honorably in both war and peace times.

According to the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Day was originally called Armistice Day and observed the anniversary of the end of World War I, Nov. 11, 1919. This day has continued as a celebration of those who served our country. It was declared a national holiday in 1938, and the name change became official in 1954.

Armistice Day was made a national holiday “to be dedicated to the cause of world peace,” according to the USDVA.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘To Vote or Not To Vote’

To vote or not to vote

That is the question

Whether it is better

to refrain from voicing

our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each

citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you

have always voted for

the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you

feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you

are registered!

Could it be that

you are disappointed

with the quality

of each candidate?

Editor’s View

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The monsters among us

The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference. Because of indifference, one dies before one actually dies. To be in the window and watch people being sent to concentration camps or being attacked in the street and do nothing, that’s being dead. (Elie Wiesel, Holocaust survivor, U.S. News & World Report, Oct. 27, 1986)

Look to your left. Look to your right. Look behind you and in front of you.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

No justification for shooting

To the Editor:

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley (MALV) is deeply shocked at the horrific incident of mass shooting at Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh. There is absolutely no justification for such an act in any religion. We offer our heartfelt condolences to the families of those killed or injured. Our prayers are with all those who are affected by these senseless atrocities.

MALV stands with the Jewish community during this testing time. No person, regardless of their religious affiliation, should ever be afraid to openly practice their faith.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Vote Donaher for 138th seat

To the Editor:

For the 138th District, there is one choice to send to Harrisburg: Dr. Dean Donaher.

Donaher has been a leader in education and the community for over 30 years. With an extensive background serving the Bethlehem Area School District, both as an administrator and a school board member, Donaher understands the weaknesses of the system that funds Pennsylvania education. He believes it is time for the state to keep up its end of the bargain and give our school districts their fair share, instead of relying on property taxes from fixed-income senior citizens.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Probst is right choice in 40th

To the Editor:

Tarah Probst is the right choice for state Senate in the 40th District.

A Northeast Pennsylvania native, Probst has been both living and giving in the community her entire life.

The mayor of Stroudsburg, she understands the unique needs of our region and the economic conditions we must create to be successful. She is willing to work with her colleagues to do what is best for our district, regardless of party affiliation. She believes all voices need to be heard when legislators go to vote.