Whitehall-Coplay Press

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Committee awards scholarship

To the Editor:

“The future depends on what you do today.”

— Mahatma Gandhi

Over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend, the Coplay Scholarship Fund Committee completed a small act to fulfill Gandhi’s quote. We awarded a $500 scholarship to a hardworking Coplay youngster.

The recipient is a nursing student at Cedar Crest College, Allentown. She was a three-year volunteer at Coplay Fire Department as a firefighter.

Another view

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘And now for something completely different’

On Dec. 5, 1974, audiences said goodbye to Monty Python’s “Flying Circus” as the final episode aired on the British Broadcasting Corporation network. The popular and, at times, controversial show originally aired Oct. 5, 1969, making this year its 50th anniversary.

The group Monty Python was formed from the creative minds of Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Michael Palin and Terry Gilliam. Gilliam was the only American in the group of British actors and writers, and he contributed the unique and recognizable animations that accompanied the show.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Missing Thanksgiving service

To the Editor:

I was very sad to learn there would be no Catasauqua community ecumenical Thanksgiving service held this year.

Suffering from the recent losses of both St. Paul’s Evangelical Lutheran Church and New Bethany (formerly Grace) Methodist Church, I was hoping our town’s residents would get to hear the good news preached jointly by our remaining protestant faith leaders at the annual get-together of congregations.

It is a Thanksgiving tradition I hope is not lost and that this year’s void is a one-time occurrence not to be repeated.

Robert Zakos Jr.

Editor’s View

Tuesday, November 26, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A time for saying thank you

Thanksgiving is traditionally a time for family and friends to gather around the table and catch up on events from the past year — new babies, new loves, new jobs, graduations and marriages.

They also fondly recall and share favorite stories of loved ones who have moved on and are no longer able to be with them on this special day.

Families give thanks for all their blessings and share a meal while renewing connections with those who may have traveled from afar.

Another View

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let this week’s Great American Smokeout be your day to begin a healthier lifestyle

Cigarette smokers, have you ever thought of quitting smoking, even for just one day?

Well, this Thursday, Nov. 21, is your chance to join thousands of other smokers around the country who are also attempting to quit smoking during the Great American Smokeout.

The American Cancer Society’s Great American Smokeout challenges individuals to quit smoking for 24 hours.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Meeting your childhood idol

Do you have a childhood idol? Someone you would like to meet?

My sister, Donna, has a childhood idol — Gene London, who was the host of the children’s show “Cartoon Corners” or “The Gene London Show.” It was based out of Philadelphia and was on WCAU-TV Channel 10 from 1959 to 1977.

During his show, London would tell stories and use a large drawing pad to illustrate key scenes and characters.

Then there was the theme song:

“Come right on in to the General Store,

We have licorice, gumdrops and sourballs;

Anything that you’re hankering for,

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘It was 20 years ago today...’

Last week, a co-worker read this quote aloud to me from the screen of his smartphone.

“Twenty years ago, the Internet was an escape from the real world. Today, the real world is an escape from the Internet.”

I am not sure, but I might have nodded in agreement.

In 1999, the Internet was akin to a frontier. A check of headlines from that year reveals a news article titled “AOL plans high-speed access.”

Another View

Wednesday, October 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Try these different options for trick-or-treaters with allergies

“Teal is the new orange.”

That’s what the cover photo says on Teal Pumpkin Project’s Facebook page.

It’s Halloweentime, and although many of The Press’ coverage areas had trick-or-treat night a few days ago, some boroughs and townships hold the annual Halloween event Oct. 31. If you haven’t yet purchased your goodies to give out to community children, you might want to add some nonfood items, too, if you don’t already have them.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s crunch time: Educate yourself on candidates’ viewpoints

Voter turnout in 2018 was up in every county across the state compared to the last midterm election, increasing from 43 percent in 2014 to 58 percent last year, according to a Department of State analysis by Keystone Crossroads data.

The numbers in Lehigh and Northampton counties were just under that average.

In Lehigh County, 126,844 ballots were cast. Registered voters totaled 232,880. Voter turnout: 54.47 percent

Northampton County logged 116,860 ballots and 209,313 registered voters. Voter turnout: 55.83 percent