Whitehall-Coplay Press

Monday, October 23, 2017

Letter to the Editor: Northampton police officers help frightened child

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I just wanted to take a moment to thank the Northampton Borough Police Department. Two officers went out of their way to help us with our son.

Our 4-year-old son Lincoln has autism, and suddenly, he has become extremely frightened of police. (We are unsure if perhaps a siren startled him.)

We have had an awful week of being sleep deprived because of this new-found fear. Officer Dennis Smith helped coordinate to have Officer Ryan Konetsky stop by our home.

Letter to the Editor: Coplay councilman reflects on McNeill

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

State Rep. Mike Schlossberg called Danny McNeill larger than life, when we all heard that Danny was called back home Friday, Sept. 8. In so many ways, this is a true statement when describing Danny.

I would just like to share a few thoughts about Danny McNeill, my friend and state rep.

Danny was the perfect example of what being elected as a public official is all about. He served the people in the 133rd District. If anyone would ask Danny for help, he never asked what district you were from or whether you were a Democrat or Republican.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sixteen years and counting

Dear reader:

Monday marked the 16th anniversary of the fall of the World Trade Center towers.

Sixteen years.

In 2013, soon after I came to the office of The Press newspapers, my opportunity to write an editorial fell on Sept. 10. I wrote of personal recollections of that day — vacuuming the floor in my parents’ home in Upper Milford Township when news images began to flood television screens, anxiously awaiting for word of the whereabouts of my sister, who was in New York City that day, and others.

United Way invests in our communities

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

Priscilla Rosado, manager for healthy aging and food access for United Way of the Greater Lehigh Valley, has been an integral part of our Whitehall Area Hunger Initiative for the last two years. She comes to our monthly public meetings, sits with me on Lehigh Valley Food Policy Council’s food access committee and has seven volunteers helping monthly at our free community meals, served the third Tuesday of every month.

Another view

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

September is National Emergency Preparedness Month

A few weeks ago, I was making some toast in the toaster oven for breakfast. Little did I know, there were crumbs on the bottom just waiting to be burnt. Within a few seconds to a minute, a small flame started in the toaster oven, and I had a mini freak-out.

Not knowing exactly what to do correctly, on the spur of the moment, I unplugged the toaster oven and waited for a few seconds to see if the flame decreased. Thankfully, it did.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, August 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Back to school — bring on the structure

The backpack, tags still on, and shopping bag full of folders, pencils and other supplies are on the dining room table — next to the list of what’s left to buy.

My McIntosh-scented candle sits idle, yet ready to signal the start of another school year.

Happenings like these may be a part of your household, too — signs that we need not only tradition, but also structure, in our families. Children will head back to classes in the next week or so, a reminder to us parents of the importance of structure, organization and time management.

Guest view

Wednesday, August 23, 2017 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

The final bell rings

Although the radiation doctor said the side effects would ramp up as treatments progressed, I raised my head and shoulders and pushed forward to the finish line.

My final radiation treatment was Aug. 15 at Lehigh Valley Hospital-Muhlenberg. After six weeks of receiving treatments, Monday through Friday, I can officially say I am finished with this stage of cancer treatment.

My final day consisted of a tradition shared by all who complete their course of cancer treatment: I rang a bell signifying the end of radiation.

Another view

Wednesday, August 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Veterans suffer from invisible wounds

My name is Julia Fritz, and I worked as the summer intern at the Lehigh Valley Press’ eight weekly newspapers.

I graduated from Allentown Central Catholic High School and am currently a rising junior at Muhlenberg College, majoring in media and communications with a double minor in Spanish and creative writing.

I have always loved to write, and I wanted to explore the different career paths I could take with my interests, so I inquired about an internship with the Lehigh Valley Press.