Whitehall-Coplay Press

Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 10, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Reflecting on some basic truths:

With all the extra time on my hands as a result of Gov. Tom Wolf’s stay-at-home order due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I have reflected on the many “pearls of wisdom” or truths I have learned or was taught over the years.

The loss of traditional high school graduations across this nation due to closed schools and social distancing rules, and then the unspeakable death May 25 of George Floyd at the hands of former Minneapolis, Minn., police officer Derek Chauvin, while three other officers watched, really brought into focus the constant and ongoing struggle between good and evil.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, June 3, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

For some, stay at home is not always safe at home

As the political battles continue about reopening municipalities, counties, states and the nation in the face of the spread of COVID-19, other confrontations are on the rise closer to home.

According to the United Nations Population Fund in data made available in late April, the COVID-19 pandemic is expected to contribute to “an estimated 2 million additional instances of intimate partner violence in 2020-2021” worldwide.

Fighting Hunger: Volunteers needed for ongoing Hunger Initiative programs

Wednesday, June 3, 2020 by SHARI NOCTOR WHITEHALL-COPLAY HUNGER INITIATIVE PRESIDENT in Opinion

Thank you all for reading my weekly articles.

I do need volunteers for upcoming Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative events. At some point in the near future, I will create an additional Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative Sign-Up Genius account separate from our community outreach program one. For now, please contact me directly at 610-730-8067 if you can help with the following:

Another View

Wednesday, June 3, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Racism, unequal rights need to stop for good

As America is trying to reopen from the coronavirus pandemic, a new battle has erupted over the death of 46-year-old George Floyd, a black man from Minneapolis.

Last week, I watched in horror on social media and news broadcasts as former Minneapolis police officer Derek Chauvin, 44, placed his knee on Floyd’s neck for 8 minutes and 46 seconds as Floyd cried out, “I can’t breathe,” and asked for his mother before taking his last breath and dying.

Guest View

Wednesday, June 3, 2020 by LISA BOSCOLA STATE SENATOR, D-18TH in Opinion

It’s June — time to open more Lehigh Valley businesses

Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf sets much of the policy for the commonwealth’s response to the COVID-19 crisis.

However, we live in a representative democracy and we, in the legislative branch, have an important role in framing our response to the pandemic and our recovery from it. At times, that means agreeing with the governor, and sometimes, that means questioning his policies.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Video conferencing during pandemic can be entertaining

I haven’t talked with one person who has not experienced some sort of stress or anxiety during this COVID-19 pandemic.

However, if you can find something to laugh about, it does help keep your spirits up.

Many of the funniest and most embarrassing situations have happened during virtual meetings using Zoom or another telephone or video conferencing platform. Zoom is a free app that can be downloaded on a smartphone, iPad or computer and allows the user to see the person, or persons, they are talking to.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Grim Reaper stalks Pennsylvania nursing homes

The state Health Department is coming under increased criticism for its bungled handling of the COVID-19 pandemic at nursing homes.

Nearly 70 percent of all deaths in the state attributed to the coronavirus have occurred at these and other elder-care facilities.

Legislators and state Attorney General Josh Shapiro are weighing in, too. The situation has become so alarming that last week Shapiro announced his office has opened criminal investigations into several long-term facilities, although he did not indicate which are involved.

Food assistance programs are available to Pennsylvanians

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

If you lost your job or had your hours reduced and you live paycheck to paycheck, you probably qualify for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. SNAP helps Pennsylvanians buy food.

People in eligible households can obtain more nutritious diets with SNAP by increasing their food-buying power at grocery stores and supermarkets. Those who are eligible receive an Electronic Benefits Transfer ACCESS card to make food purchases.

Do you qualify?

Another View

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Thank you, teachers

Education is improving the lives of others and for leaving your community and world better than you found it.

— Marian Wright Edelman, founder and president emerita of Children’s Defense Fund

Teacher Appreciation Week was held May 4-8. During this time, students, parents, administrations, school boards and community members across the country thanked teachers for all they do. Especially now during the COVID-19 pandemic, we may have been even more impelled to express our gratitude.