Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Another View

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stricter regulations, security measures needed at nursing homes

Every day, American families place their loved ones in nursing homes and trust they will be properly cared for by the staff.

Eight senior citizens died Sept. 13 from excessive heat inside the Rehabilitation Center at Hollywood Hills, Hollywood, Fla., when the nursing home’s air conditioning stopped working during a power loss and its backup generator failed after Hurricane Irma hit Florida Sept. 10.

editor’s view

Wednesday, September 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Equifax data breach means life will never be the same

Are you worried a complete stranger has your personal information?

It is very possible you are one of 143 million U.S. consumers to have had your birthday, Social Security number, driver’s license number, address and other personal information stolen from Equifax Inc.

I am “potentially” one of those consumers, according to the Equifax website.

Baffling to me is that, according to the announcement made Sept. 7, the breach was discovered July 29 and Equifax “acted immediately to stop the intrusion.”

Letter to the Editor: Northampton police officers help frightened child

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I just wanted to take a moment to thank the Northampton Borough Police Department. Two officers went out of their way to help us with our son.

Our 4-year-old son Lincoln has autism, and suddenly, he has become extremely frightened of police. (We are unsure if perhaps a siren startled him.)

We have had an awful week of being sleep deprived because of this new-found fear. Officer Dennis Smith helped coordinate to have Officer Ryan Konetsky stop by our home.

Letter to the Editor: Coplay councilman reflects on McNeill

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

State Rep. Mike Schlossberg called Danny McNeill larger than life, when we all heard that Danny was called back home Friday, Sept. 8. In so many ways, this is a true statement when describing Danny.

I would just like to share a few thoughts about Danny McNeill, my friend and state rep.

Danny was the perfect example of what being elected as a public official is all about. He served the people in the 133rd District. If anyone would ask Danny for help, he never asked what district you were from or whether you were a Democrat or Republican.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sixteen years and counting

Dear reader:

Monday marked the 16th anniversary of the fall of the World Trade Center towers.

Sixteen years.

In 2013, soon after I came to the office of The Press newspapers, my opportunity to write an editorial fell on Sept. 10. I wrote of personal recollections of that day — vacuuming the floor in my parents’ home in Upper Milford Township when news images began to flood television screens, anxiously awaiting for word of the whereabouts of my sister, who was in New York City that day, and others.

United Way invests in our communities

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

Priscilla Rosado, manager for healthy aging and food access for United Way of the Greater Lehigh Valley, has been an integral part of our Whitehall Area Hunger Initiative for the last two years. She comes to our monthly public meetings, sits with me on Lehigh Valley Food Policy Council’s food access committee and has seven volunteers helping monthly at our free community meals, served the third Tuesday of every month.

Another view

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

September is National Emergency Preparedness Month

A few weeks ago, I was making some toast in the toaster oven for breakfast. Little did I know, there were crumbs on the bottom just waiting to be burnt. Within a few seconds to a minute, a small flame started in the toaster oven, and I had a mini freak-out.

Not knowing exactly what to do correctly, on the spur of the moment, I unplugged the toaster oven and waited for a few seconds to see if the flame decreased. Thankfully, it did.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, August 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Back to school — bring on the structure

The backpack, tags still on, and shopping bag full of folders, pencils and other supplies are on the dining room table — next to the list of what’s left to buy.

My McIntosh-scented candle sits idle, yet ready to signal the start of another school year.

Happenings like these may be a part of your household, too — signs that we need not only tradition, but also structure, in our families. Children will head back to classes in the next week or so, a reminder to us parents of the importance of structure, organization and time management.