Whitehall-Coplay Press

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Invite some natives to your property this year

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I have been busy making a list and checking it twice. And thrice.

No, I am not trying to get an absurdly early start to Christmas. I am trying to decide what new plants to add to my many containers and small backyard plots.

My recent visit to the Philadelphia Flower Show put me in the mood, as it always does, for working in the garden, and plant and seed catalogs have been filling my mailbox for months, enticing me with gorgeous photos and bargain prices.

Admittedly, small-space gardening is a challenge.

Guest view

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by GEORGE VANDOREN in Opinion

Let’s get real about protecting the public

As a retired teacher and a former U.S. Army officer, I’d like to weigh in on the subject of arming teachers.

Let’s set aside the idea that schools ought to be welcoming, nurturing places with an atmosphere of warmth and encouragement.

Let’s take the best-case scenario — which is definitely not the case. We have all the teachers voluntarily armed and all well trained in both marksmanship vis-à-vis a moving target and the use of deadly force.

A community of ‘ones’

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the aftermath of tragic events, I tend to feel very helpless and small. Even though my every day is jam-packed with activities that serve to improve the quality of life for others, I feel as if I somehow failed. It sounds a bit ridiculous because I could never directly make a difference for every single person out there, especially those who live far away and have no connection to me. Yet, I tend to think globally and wonder what I could have done to create a different outcome.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Farmland should be preserved

To the Editor:

I am a member of Troop 43. The reason I am writing to you is about the problem of making factories or warehouses on our farmland.

In my opinion, this is a bad choice because they will replace farm homes and farmland. The people removed from their homes had to work hard to keep the farm going. If we keep this up, most of the farmland in the country will be gone.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘All truths are easy to understand once discovered; the point is to discover them.’ — Galileo

It’s been a big week in space, so to speak.

An American astronaut was found to have altered his genes through space travel. The science and space savvy the world over celebrated the 16th letter of the Greek alphabet. And a luminary scientist left us for worlds unknown.

Not that earthbound news did not keep headline readers and writers busy.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Fundraisers could help with repairs at skate park

To the Editor:

I am a Boy Scout from Troop 43 in Bath. I am writing this letter to raise awareness about our local skate park. I am not sending a complaint about this park; I am simply informing you about some of the issues I have encountered while skating here.

There are many cracks in the pavement and pebbles on the ramps, making it hard to ride smoothly. I know these difficulties because I have fallen there many times due to these issues.

Another view

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Gap Inc. normalizes breast-feeding in recent online ad

I’m one happy Gap customer. Not only do the company’s jeans fit me well, its ad posted online featuring a mother breast-feeding her child made me especially happy and proud.

During a recent photo shoot, Adaora Akubilo, the model in the photo, paused a moment during the shoot to breast-feed her son Arinze, who got hungry while she was working. The mother-and-son moment was posted on Instagram Feb. 22 with two photos and the hashtag #LoveByGapBody.

Some of the comments to the photos posted on Gap’s Instagram page include:

Summer breakfast camp is back for a second year

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

We are excited to begin the second year of our free summer breakfast camp in June for all Whitehall and Coplay school-age students — kindergarten through 12th grade. This summer camp will be held at St. John’s Evangelical Lutheran Church, 835 Third St., Fullerton. It will begin when school lets out in June and continue until the Friday before school is back in session in August.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Add a state day and a parade to Barkley’s list of achievements

You may know him as No. 26 — Saquon Barkley, the standout running back for Penn State’s Nittany Lions.

Here in the Whitehall-Coplay area, we know him simply as Sa-Sa, a Coplay resident and 2015 Whitehall High School graduate.

You might have seen him in the new Nike commercial, sporting the new Vapor Untouchable 3 football cleat.

You might have seen him in the Combine coverage on the NFL Network or videos on Twitter, running a 40-yard dash in just 4.41 seconds, putting up 29 reps of 225 pounds on the bench press and logging a 41-inch vertical.