Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Another view

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A home away from home

This is my first Another View column since coming back to Pennsylvania from Florida. No, it wasn’t a vacation. My husband and I adopted a beautiful baby boy, Benjamin, who was born March 21 — three weeks early.

We had been in the general adoption process for about a year and had waited around six and a half months to be matched with a birth mother. Two days before Christmas, we got “the call” from our caseworker that a woman who viewed our adoption profile thought we were the ones. On March 21, he was born 10:10 p.m., and we flew down early in the morning to meet our greatest joy.

Letter to the editor:

Wednesday, May 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We should have one organization: Scouting

To the Editor:

Many years ago, when I was a Scoutmaster of a troop, I could not get any help. So I asked if I could have some willing Den mothers from the Cub Scout pack to help with the Boy Scout troop.

I was told that Boy Scouts was for men and boys only.

Well, after a few years, we all know how that turned out. With the way so many in America feel about equality, I think we should just have Scouting — boys and girls together learning the same skills for the most part.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, May 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Paucity of candidates is disappointing

As a student of politics, longtime community volunteer and former borough council member, mayor, county commissioner at-large and current school director, it was disturbing to review a local 2017 Lehigh County May primary voters guide. Despite the apparent enthusiasm, especially on the Democratic side, resulting from the 2016 general election outcome, the number of unfilled local candidate positions in both parties is surprising and disappointing.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Beware the results of unsecured technological advancements

Many things in life are like a double-edged sword.

A mother’s love can be warm and nurturing. That same “love” can be smothering and controlling.

Fathers and others who coach youth sports teams can draw out the best from young players, or they can be overbearing tyrants more interested in winning than teaching skills that can be used throughout life.

Water and fire are necessary for life. They also can be devastating and deadly.

Summer breakfast program set to begin June 19

Wednesday, May 10, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

When school lets out in June, those students who rely on the free and reduced-price breakfast and lunch program provided by school districts really do need our community’s help to alleviate childhood hunger throughout the summer. You have all seen the billboards and ads from Feeding America’s No Kid Hungry program, which reports that one in five kids go hungry over the summer.

That is true right here in Whitehall and Coplay.

Another View

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Firearms do not belong in the hands

The Pennsylvania Senate Education Committee recently approved Senate Bill 383, sponsored by Sen. Don White, R-41st, of Indiana County.

This bill, which would allow school directors to establish a policy for allowing personnel access to firearms in school buildings or on school grounds, would amend the Public School Code of 1949.

Senate Bill 383, which passed the committee with a 9-3 vote, will now go to the full Senate for final approval.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Zanelli is ‘best for future of county’

To the Editor:

The municipal primary is approaching on May 16, in which we will select a new commissioner. If you want the best for the future of Lehigh County, there is only one choice: Amy Zanelli.

Zanelli believes in protecting Lehigh County’s most valuable asset: its people. She has a proven track record of community advocacy and engagement that she will bring to the commissioner position for Lehigh County residents from toddler to elder.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Should girls be allowed in the Boy Scouts of America?

I recently read the story of 15-year-old Sydney Ireland, of New York, who had petitioned the Boy Scouts of America to allow girls into the organization.

Sydney had attended Cub Scouts with her brother “unofficially” since she was very young. She was not able to earn any of the recognition or badges her older brother earned because she is female.

Her brother is now an Eagle Scout.

According to news reports, Sydney went as far as she could with Cub Scouts, later joined the South African Scouts and then achieved the highest rank with the Canadian Scouts.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 municipal primary election, the Catasauqua Press, Northampton Press and Whitehall-Coplay Press — in the interest of fairness — will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 20 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.