Whitehall-Coplay Press

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Exercise your right: Vote on Tuesday

The 2019 municipal primary is May 21. This is a true grassroots election.

Many of the names on the ballot are your neighbors, friends and even relatives.

You, the voters, will decide on the candidates who will move on to the November election to serve as township supervisors and commissioners, borough council members, school board directors, county commissioners and judges. They will serve in office, anywhere from four to 10 years, and make decisions that will directly affect you, your children and your community.

Another View

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Happy Mother’s Day

This coming Sunday, May 12, is Mother’s Day.

This is a day for all children, young and not-so-young, all across America to honor the women who gave them love and guidance as they were growing.

According to History.com, celebrations of mothers and motherhood can be traced back to the ancient Greeks and Romans who held festivals to honor the mother goddesses Rhea and Cybele.

Mother’s Day arose in the 1900s due to the efforts of Anna Jarvis.

Her mom, Ann Reeves Jarvis, was a social activist during the Civil War era.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 1, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Cards, anyone?

If you are in need of a deck of cards, contact Washington state Sen. Maureen Walsh. She has received hundreds of decks of cards in response to comments she made about nurses April 16.

While debating a bill proposing uninterrupted meal and rest breaks for nurses, as well as further protections against mandatory overtime, Walsh said nurses in Critical Access Hospitals with relatively few patients “probably do get breaks” and “probably play cards for a considerable amount of the day.”

This from a woman whose mother was a registered nurse.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

On-the-job training may produce valuable life lessons

Before it was a “thing” to do, my mother took me to work.

At the time, she worked for what was Pet Frozen Foods on Downyflake Lane in Allentown. In my childhood understanding of manufacturing, waffles were made there.

My mom had worked at Pet for several years on different shifts and was at the time on the overnight shift, which meant she was home in the afternoon when my siblings and I got home from school. A selling point, she said.

I am not really sure why she took me to work that day. It probably involved me asking repeatedly to go.

Another View

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To celebrate Earth Day, what will you do to impact our world?

If you’re like me, you’re enjoying the warmer weather that comes with spring and anticipating the really warm days of summer. One thing I don’t enjoy is the buzzing I hear swarming around me when I’m outside at an event or playing with my son in the backyard. Although I have a fear of bees — I’ll save the traumatic childhood experience for another time — I know how important they are to plants, our environment and even the economy.

Living the Vintage Years: These four words can make a caregiver’s day

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

When the phone rang one midmorning, I considered not answering it. A bit overwhelmed by my caregiving tasks, I was not in the mood to deal with sales calls or surveys.

But I answered it anyway — and I am glad I did. A retired friend, Nancy, told me she was out and about doing errands.

“Do you need anything?” she asked.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

College scam shows parents’ lack of faith in children’s abilities

The court system is ably handling the parents involved in Operation Varsity Blues and the man behind the scam to influence college admissions decisions at some prestigious American universities.

It’s now time to stop talking about those who’ve allegedly committed the crimes and start thinking about all those who’ve been negatively impacted by their actions.

Another View

Wednesday, April 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

As the saying goes, ‘April showers bring May flowers’

Not only do April showers give life to flowers, they also bring a host of hazards and concerns. Spring weather can be unpredictable. The temperatures swing back and forth between cool and hot.

Mark Twain once said, “In the spring, I have counted 136 kinds of weather inside of four and twenty hours.”

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ privacy takes flight like mythology’s winged horse

The reality of author George Orwell’s “1984” hit me one night when I coughed while sleeping.

A voice from my smartphone, which was on a nearby table, replied to the sound I had just made saying it was sorry, but it did not understand what I had just said.

The phone had been listening to me just like the telescreens of Orwell’s dystopian novel.

Egads! I wonder if I ever talked in my sleep.

Another View

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Every day should be devoted to healthy nutrition

For months, I have been looking for a good nutritional plan/diet I can follow that would help me change my poor eating habits; however, choosing one has not been easy.

Even after months of researching different plans, I am more confused by the nutritional information I have read on the Internet.

As I still have not found one that fits all my specific nutritional goals, I opted to begin eating healthy, nutritious foods in March.

And, what better timing, as March is National Nutrition Month.