Whitehall-Coplay Press

Wednesday, July 8, 2020

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘This was supposed to be your year’

These are the words of Chris Dier, Louisiana’s 2020 Teacher of the Year and a finalist for national Teacher of the Year. He teaches world history and AP human geography at Chalmette High School in St. Bernard Parish.

“Let’s be abundantly clear — you were robbed, and it’s unfair,” Dier continued.

Dier provided this message on his personal blog for the thousands of high school seniors who are attending online classes for their final semester due to COVID-19.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, April 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

School property taxes should not increase

To the Editor:

The Northampton school board had a virtual meeting, and one topic that is slated for the next meeting is next year’s budget. It happens every year, and it’s a foregone conclusion the board and the administration will want to increase our already ridiculously high property taxes to fund an already bloated system.

Let me be clear on this. The school board must not increase taxes this year!

Guest View

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The fight against COVID-19 is a war

War and conflict have been a ceaseless part of human history. The battle against the COVID-19 virus is an enemy no nation has ever met. COVID-19 never tires, COVID-19 ceaselessly attacks, and COVID-19 is a survivor. COVID-19 is an awesome enemy, but like all enemies in all wars, COVID-19 will be defeated.

In the battle to defeat COVID-19, there are an amazing number of organizations adopting military-style principles to defeat the diseases and win the war for human health.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Four little words

It is a scene being played across the nation, the county and the Lehigh Valley.

Employees may be asked to gather in the corporation auditorium, meet in smaller groups in a conference room or large office, close the door behind them as they cross the threshold of their immediate supervisor’s office.

Some gatherings may need to wait for an owner or company CEO or upper-level manager to appear. Nervous whispers may be exchanged.

Throats are cleared.

And then the words, heard frequently right now, are spoken.

“You are laid off.”

Another View

Wednesday, March 25, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all in this together’

My last Another View opinion piece was published Feb. 5 and 6 in The Press newspapers. The headline — “Coronavirus is not what you should be worried about in U.S.”

I was wrong.

I never thought our country would see the troubles it currently is having.

The actions being taken to combat COVID-19 is disrupting every part of American lives — work, education, places of worship, hospitals, businesses for leisurely activities, family and friend gatherings and more.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’

There’s a saying, We plan, and God laughs.

News of COVID-19, the new strain of the coronavirus, creeping ever closer to our neighborhoods has brought much anxiety to our lives. Add to that the cancellations of community activities, some of which we rely on to bring happiness and a sense of calm.

Daily we find ourselves looking for ways to keep our loved ones safe.

This requires some planning. But for so many, this planning can be overwhelming — even seemingly impossible.

Election Policy

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers

As we approach the April 28 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Their secrets are not safe with us

Most of us prefer sunshine. It’s rare to hear someone say, “That was a nice, cloudy day.”

We’re invigorated by a glorious sunrise and spend hours outdoors on brilliantly sunny days.

As John Denver so succinctly sang, “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.”

In journalism, the reference to sunshine takes on an equally important meaning. Each year in March, news media organizations across the country celebrate Sunshine Week.

Another View

Wednesday, March 11, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

COVID-19 concerns impact St. Patrick’s Day in home country

St. Patrick’s Day is a celebration of the patron saint of Ireland and his fabled expulsion of the snakes from the country.

Once upon a time, the day was celebrated with church services and simple parties. When Irish immigrants came to America, they used the day to mark their heritage with big celebrations. Now, the holiday features parades, parties and all things green.

The large celebrations have even spread back to the holiday’s home country of Ireland. The St. Patrick’s Day festivities in Dublin, Ireland’s capital, are well known and well attended.