Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Check out the charity before writing the check

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It seems everyone wants our money.

As the holiday season approached, my husband and I were inundated with mailings and telephone calls requesting donations for a multitude of charities, including quite a few unfamiliar to us.

I am sure some organizations we supported in the past sold their donor lists to similar organizations, and soon the pleas for help (along with calendars, address labels and greeting cards) began stacking up on my desk.

Even my late husband, gone more than 25 years, received some appeals for money. Good luck with that!

Another view: We need to worry about climate change now, not later

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

“The climate is changing, it’s our fault and we got to get to work on this.”

— Bill Nye, scientist, in a video release for the documentary “Bill Nye the Science Guy”

“The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.”

— Genesis 2:15

“If you besiege a town for a long time, making war against it in order to take it, you must not destroy its trees by wielding an ax against them. Although you may take food from them, you must not cut them down. Are trees in the field human beings that they should come under siege from you?”

No two couples are alike

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

One winter evening, I dropped in on a friend for a quick visit. A cozy fire glowed in the fireplace as my friend and her husband, clad in their flannel jammies, cuddled under a blanket on the love seat. They were watching one of their favorite TV shows together. Mugs of hot chocolate sat on their laps. After some conversation about the weather and our kids, I couldn’t help but comment on the way they were spending the evening.

“Do you do this every night?” I asked kind of incredulously.

Another view: Travel ban shows White House ineptitude

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

President Donald Trump’s Jan. 27 executive order has led to some chaotic results that are making me nervous about our country’s new leader and his White House staff.

I am not surprised the order, which blocks admission to the United States by individuals from seven countries, was issued. After all, one of Trump’s campaign promises was to institute a policy of “extreme vetting” to keep the country safe from terrorists. We did not have to wait long for him to take the action. The executive order was signed just eight days after his inauguration.

Editor’s view: Keep calm and …

Friday, February 10, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How would you complete that statement today?

In the wake of a highly contentious election, and an equally stressful postelection season, people seem to be struggling to find their source of calm and healing.

Would you choose to pray or protest?

Do you find comfort in the company of like-minded citizens, even if they are complete strangers? Or, do you find yourself staying close to home and holding your loved ones just a little closer?

I would complete the above statement in two ways: Keep calm and stay educated. And keep calm and journal.

Letter to the editor: ‘We will not forget Toomey’s betrayal’

Friday, February 10, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Sen. Pat Toomey’s constituents have spoken.

We’ve spoken so voluminously and so loudly that we’ve been unable to reach Toomey by phone or fax.

Today, I am dismayed at Toomey’s written response, in which he relays he will support Betsy DeVos for Secretary of Education despite the flooding of opposition to her from his constituents.

We see who Sen. Toomey serves, and it is not the people in his state, but the people with deep pockets — families like the DeVos family who have donated nearly $60,000 to his campaign.

Guest view: Music to a parent’s ears

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

There are some words that just make my day. “How did you survive raising me?!” is a question that is truly music to my ears.

My oldest son called me one morning to say he was absolutely exhausted from dealing with his 5-year-old. I smiled. You see, Dan was my challenging child. He went on to tell me how Jackson insisted upon dressing like a pirate for preschool that day. They tried everything under the sun to convince him it was not appropriate to wear a costume to school in December, but Jackson persisted. I smiled even more.

Editor’s view: And you thought things were going to be different

Wednesday, February 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The name and political party of an American president or, for that matter, the leader of any country are unimportant.

Blind and uncompromising bureaucracy is the true ruler, and the individual is unimportant in a land governed by laws lacking in common sense.

From young children in wheelchairs groped by TSA agents at airport screenings to the homeowner whose property is seized through eminent domain, the “good” of the country or political subdivision rises above humanity.

Another view: How will proposed health care changes affect you, loved ones?

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Three weeks ago, I watched along with other Americans as Republicans gained control of the 115th U.S. House of Representatives and Senate.

Last Friday, Americans and the world watched as businessman Donald J. Trump was sworn in as the 45th president of the United States.

As a consumer of the Affordable Care Act, I have been closely following what the new Congress will do to the health care laws and the new health care plan its members are expecting to propose to the 20 million Americans insured under the Affordable Care Act, known as Obamacare.