Whitehall-Coplay Press

Friday, May 24, 2019

Editor’s View

Wednesday, November 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcards, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.

Another View

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remember why we celebrate

Veterans Day celebrates all who served our country honorably in both war and peace times.

According to the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Day was originally called Armistice Day and observed the anniversary of the end of World War I, Nov. 11, 1919. This day has continued as a celebration of those who served our country. It was declared a national holiday in 1938, and the name change became official in 1954.

Armistice Day was made a national holiday “to be dedicated to the cause of world peace,” according to the USDVA.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘To Vote or Not To Vote’

To vote or not to vote

That is the question

Whether it is better

to refrain from voicing

our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each

citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you

have always voted for

the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you

feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you

are registered!

Could it be that

you are disappointed

with the quality

of each candidate?

Editor’s View

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The monsters among us

The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference. Because of indifference, one dies before one actually dies. To be in the window and watch people being sent to concentration camps or being attacked in the street and do nothing, that’s being dead. (Elie Wiesel, Holocaust survivor, U.S. News & World Report, Oct. 27, 1986)

Look to your left. Look to your right. Look behind you and in front of you.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

No justification for shooting

To the Editor:

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley (MALV) is deeply shocked at the horrific incident of mass shooting at Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh. There is absolutely no justification for such an act in any religion. We offer our heartfelt condolences to the families of those killed or injured. Our prayers are with all those who are affected by these senseless atrocities.

MALV stands with the Jewish community during this testing time. No person, regardless of their religious affiliation, should ever be afraid to openly practice their faith.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Vote Donaher for 138th seat

To the Editor:

For the 138th District, there is one choice to send to Harrisburg: Dr. Dean Donaher.

Donaher has been a leader in education and the community for over 30 years. With an extensive background serving the Bethlehem Area School District, both as an administrator and a school board member, Donaher understands the weaknesses of the system that funds Pennsylvania education. He believes it is time for the state to keep up its end of the bargain and give our school districts their fair share, instead of relying on property taxes from fixed-income senior citizens.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Probst is right choice in 40th

To the Editor:

Tarah Probst is the right choice for state Senate in the 40th District.

A Northeast Pennsylvania native, Probst has been both living and giving in the community her entire life.

The mayor of Stroudsburg, she understands the unique needs of our region and the economic conditions we must create to be successful. She is willing to work with her colleagues to do what is best for our district, regardless of party affiliation. She believes all voices need to be heard when legislators go to vote.

Another View

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hurricane Michael survivors need our help

One of the most powerful storms to hit the United States slammed into the Florida panhandle as a Category 4 hurricane Oct. 10 before moving on to Georgia, the Carolinas and Virginia.

After the hurricane hit, I was glued to the television, watching live news broadcasts showing the destruction. As I watched TV the next day, one Weather Channel broadcast on the aftermath of Hurricane Michael touched me emotionally.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the end of bar soap and more

This is not an obituary.

Nor is it a political commentary.

This Editor’s View mourns the death of things I and many others grew up with, including bar soap and top sheets.

Yes, that’s right. According to a recent news article, Generation Z individuals born between 1995 and 2010 and millennials born between 1981 and 1996 are changing the world as we know it — for those individuals have stated they no longer use bar soap, only liquid soap.

And, they don’t use top sheets.

Top sheets? Will a sheet set soon only come with a fitted sheet and pillowcases?

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

’Tis the season for flu prevention

It’s October and that means, for me at least, it is time for a flu shot.

On the record, I don’t like getting flu shots, although the anticipation really is the worst part. The shot itself is over in moments. The paperwork takes longer than the physical needle stick.

However, the flu shot is better than being sick, homemade chicken noodle soup notwithstanding.

And this year, the shot may be more important than ever.