Whitehall-Coplay Press

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

EDITOR’S view

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering those we lost during this holiday season

Many of our readers have been following the Guest Views written by former editorial assistant and freelance writer/photographer Mark Reccek documenting his battle with cancer.

Although a very private person, Mark felt it was important to share his journey with our readers and the many friends he had acquired through his work at The Press.

On Dec. 17, Mark lost the fight.

Mark was well educated, with multiple degrees, one being a law degree. He was studying to take the bar exam to become a lawyer to represent those who could not represent themselves.

Coplay Borough clears away tree stump

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

And what to my wondering eyes did appear, a stump grinder attached to an undercover reindeer — and, of course, Santa’s little helper to guide the stump away.

My tree was taken down by the strong storm in July 2015, which at first was thought to be a tornado by the National Weather Service. I was lucky. My tree was uprooted and laid on my front lawn for more than a week. By then, the borough decided they had to hire a subcontractor because they were way behind on the storm cleanup by at least nine trees.

Thanks for Operation Santa visit

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Our appreciation goes out to Whitehall Township Fire Department Station 36 and its volunteers for hosting Santa, Mrs. Claus and their elf helper Dec. 17 for Operation Santa in Fullerton.

Although our son, Benjamin, 9 months old, will not remember this special visit, for us, as parents, the annual Christmas event is something we’ll treasure ourselves.

This is such a nice tradition the township’s fire department continues to do every year.

Hunger initiative adds free Sunday community meal

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

On Jan. 19, 2016, the Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative began offering free community meals for our Whitehall and Coplay hunger-insecure residents. On that first day, which was sunny but brutally windy, we had 13 residents enjoy a hot meal. These dinners move monthly to different locations.

Over the last two years, these meals have grown to feed an average of 115 people on the third Tuesday of every month. We always seem to have enough food to serve everyone, but the meals are guaranteed for the first 100 people.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Casting a not-so-wide network

Last week, when headlines announced devastating news such as sexual harassment and misconduct scandals, wildfires in California, ongoing problems in North Korea, train crashes in Germany and other events, a front-page story in The Wall Street Journal offered readers a moment for surprise: details of the Rolodex of one-percenter David Rockefeller.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Leiner supporter: ‘It’s time for change’

To the Editor:

I have known Bill Leiner Jr. all my life. As children, we played together. As teenagers, we raised a little hell together. And, as adults, we worked at Bethlehem Steel together.

For as long as I can remember, Bill has always had a passion for politics. More importantly, he has always had a compassion for the little guy — the working man. And, as the son of a 95-year-old Pearl Harbor survivor, I know Bill would never do anything to dishonor his father.

Another view

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whichever holiday you celebrate, make it a good one

On Oct. 13 during the Values Voter Summit in Washington, President Donald Trump said, “We’re saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again.”

I didn’t realize the White House and Americans stopped saying this. We didn’t actually. At our workplaces, at our churches, at our family and friends’ gatherings, and even at department stores, we still say “Merry Christmas.”

The perils of cancer treatment

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

My strong advice to anyone going through chemotherapy treatment, or about to go through it, is listen to professional advice and heed any research you may uncover.

I finished my second chemotherapy treatment Oct. 4. I personally didn’t think the treatment varied much from the first until a few days later.

Rather than try to be as active as I possibly could, much of what I did involved sleeping a great deal. The excess sleep ultimately led to a short hospital stay — luckily, a stay of only a few days.

Resilience: the art of bouncing back

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sometimes I ask my adult children questions and really fear the answers. There is something about that kind of suspense, I suppose. So I did it again this summer when we are all together.

“What was the worst thing I ever did as a parent?” I asked them.

They responded all too quickly. Worse than that, all three of them had the same answer.

“You sent us to that after-school program when all our friends were able to go home,” they declared almost in unison.

Musings from Middle School

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

When the 2017-18 school year began, we, the Northampton Area Middle School English department, knew we wanted opportunities for our students that would allow them to understand that writing was relevant to their lives beyond school. In partnering with the Northampton Press, we were able to establish a relationship with a community stakeholder to share and publish some of our students’ writing — hence our section, Musings from Middle School.