Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Chosen words

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hoist the balloons for the month of June

Month that you are

those near and far

Attend celebrations

as countless as stars

Sailing through

Birthdays

Graduations

Weddings

Anniversaries

Reunions

From the first to the 30th

We attend each event

Purchase gifts galore

So there’s ample delight

Such a splendid occasion is June

What a sight!

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A weekend of love vs. hate

The weekend of May 18-20 was a study in the contrast between love and hate, good vs. evil.

On Friday, hate prevailed as Dimitrios Pagourtzis, a 17-year-old student at Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, Texas, walked into the school’s art complex with a shotgun and a handgun and began shooting at his fellow students.

In the end, 10 people were slaughtered. Another 13 were wounded. Pagourtzis was taken into custody following a shootout with police.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will you pay to connect?

It has been a little over a month since the news broke of the Facebook data breach involving Cambridge Analytica.

At least 87 million Facebook users were impacted.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologized, appeared before Congress and went on a social media frenzy noting upcoming changes to the social media giant to ensure the privacy of users going forward.

During Zuckerberg’s testimony before Congress, Sen. Orin Hatch asked Zuckerberg if Facebook would always be free.

Zuckerberg responded, “Yes, there will always be a version of Facebook that is free.”

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is big data trending?

Cambridge Analytica is closing.

In May 2 headlines in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, the firm announced plans to file for bankruptcy and, effectively, shut down.

Cambridge Analytica recently was at the center of a political storm after revelations of its role in the 2016 U.S. presidential campaign and how big data harvested from social media can be used or misused.

Serving teens alcohol is harmful to cognition, development

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Last week, I found myself performing the very tedious task of reattaching an ear on a ceramic bunny. My cat has an issue with the little figure standing upright, so she takes great pleasure in knocking it on its side. I have no idea why, and usually, I just place the lopsided bunny back on its feet and walk away. But this time, the figurine had fallen to the floor, and the tip of one ear broke off.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Susan Wild for Congress

To the Editor:

Our country needs change. Desperately. Change in Washington, D.C.

The forces of gerrymandering and huge money in politics are stealing away our democracy.

In D.C., we need a U.S. House member who will work daily on issues important to the vast majority. One who will work to preserve Social Security and Medicare. One who will fight for our families, working people and the middle class.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thanks for coverage of Barkley events

To the Editor:

On behalf of the Saquon Barkley Day organizers, volunteers, Coplay council, mayor and local business establishments, we need to thank Whitehall-Coplay Press Editor Kelly Lutterschmidt, photographers TinaMarie Martin and Scott Nagy and writer James Bunting for the excellent coverage provided on the March 24 Barkley Day event and April 26 Barkley Draft parties in the Coplay community.

On March 24, more than 5,000 people came to Coplay and supported our local eating establishments because of one person — Saquon Barkley.