Whitehall-Coplay Press

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?’

I don’t want an automatic pet feeder.

I wouldn’t mind making engraved items at home or receiving a luxury car rental coupon.

“Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?” was in my email today. I don’t want to be fat. Do they think I’m fat?

Yes, I want to sleep better, and I don’t need a levitating moon lamp.

And yes, today, I received several messages on how to safely remove earwax.

Did I ask for these messages? Absolutely not.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The cost of winter weather

On March 3, forecasters anticipated snow in various accumulations in a storm expected to last mid-afternoon to early morning March 4. Predictions of inclement weather prompted Northwestern Lehigh School District to cancel the afternoon performance of the spring musical “The Addams Family” at the high school March 3 and offer details about securing ticket refunds via a special bulletin on the district website.

Earlier snow days in the academic year led organizers to postpone the “Mr. Emmaus” talent show at Emmaus High School at least twice as of March 3.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Sewer problems need attention

To the Editor:

I am a rate payer in the [Coplay Whitehall Sewer Authority] system. My son and I have been before the CWSA board several times trying to get our sewer problems resolved, but we have not had any substantive results.

My son spent the month of August 2018 dealing with sewage backflows in his basement. On the last occasion, CWSA was called to respond to a severe sewer backflow after a heavy rainstorm. Personnel on site confirmed a sewer backflow. The backflow stopped shortly after the heavy rain stopped.

Another View

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Step into spring with a goal of reducing your credit card debt

When was the last time you used a credit card to make a purchase? Was it last week? A couple days ago? Or was it even sometime today?

According to cnbc.com’s Jan. 23, 2018, article titled “Credit card debt hits a record high; it’s time to pay off your debt,” Jessica Dickler writes, “The average American has a credit card balance of $6,375, up nearly 3 percent from [2017], according to Experian’s annual study on the state of credit and debt in America.

On the Homefront: Marriage requires work, communication, outside resources

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by DENISE CONTINENZA in Opinion

A funny tale pops up when people talk about marriage and anniversaries: A couple was celebrating their golden anniversary by renewing their vows. At the conclusion of the little ceremony, their pastor congratulated them on 50 years of marriage and posed to them one question: “At any point along the way, did divorce ever cross your minds?”

The husband responded with a quick “No, never.” The wife nodded in agreement and said, “Divorce, no. Murder, yes.”

And such is the stuff that marriages are made of.

Fighting Hunger: How will you help those in your community?

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

I was thinking about what I was going to write this month. Sometimes, it takes a few days to think of something meaningful.

I turned my National Wildlife Federation calendar that I received in the mail to February, and there was a quote from Jane Goodall: “The most important thing, as I am constantly saying, is to think about small ways in which we can make a difference — every day.”

This was a sign to me that this is what I am supposed to write about this month.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Oh, the lessons we’ve learned

The story goes that one man challenged a second man to write a children’s book using only 50 different words.

The first man was Bennett Cerf, founder of the Random House publishing company. The second man was Theodor Geisel, author, political cartoonist and animator.

The outcome of the bet: $50 in Geisel’s pocket and a little book titled “Green Eggs and Ham.”

The challenge was a win-win really. Random House, in 1960, published the work, which has sold more than 8 million copies.

Another view

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lack of candy is breaking hearts this Valentine’s Day

For those with a sweet tooth, a Valentine’s Day favorite might be tough to find this year.

Everyone is familiar with the classic Sweethearts candy featuring cute little messages like “Be Mine,” “Let’s Kiss” and “True Love.” However, due to a company buyout and health code violations, the original brand of these candies will not be ready in time for Valentine’s Day this year.

The original Sweethearts were made by New England Confectionery Company, better known as NECCO.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, February 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Treasure versus trash: When is the line crossed?

There was a brilliant mathematics teacher at the high school I attended. As the community was small, his children, who were also very smart, attended the same school.

Aside from what appeared to be their innate abilities in math and physics, I never suspected anything was different.

One day, a couple of friends and I, along with one of the teacher’s sons, went to his house.

I stepped inside the front door and could not believe what I saw.

Every inch of space — from floor to ceiling — was stacked with newspapers and books.