Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, February 24, 2018

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Coming together to support a colleague

The world was rocked July 19 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., had been diagnosed with a primary brain tumor known as glioblastoma following a procedure to remove a blood clot from above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

“The senator and his family are reviewing further treatment options with his Mayo Clinic care team. Treatment options may include a combination of chemotherapy and radiation,” according to a statement by Mayo Clinic released July 19.

Another view

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Engage your child’s mind this summer

Ahhh … it’s the summer — when kids rejoice in having no homework, assignments and school responsibilities for a few months.

But is that really a good thing? A New York Times op-ed contributor says no, it’s not, according to a July 27, 2011, article.

Jeff Smink said, “If students are not engaged in learning over the summer, they lose skills in math and reading. Summers off are one of the most important, yet least acknowledged, causes of underachievement in our schools.”

Guest view

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by CAROL OBANDO-DERSTINE in Opinion

Have a cool, cost-effective season

It’s a simple equation: The less you spend on energy during the heat of summer, the more you have to spend on lemonade, pool passes, ice cream and road trips to the beach. So how do you make that happen?

We’re glad to share the following tips for a cool but cost-effective summer. Many of these will work for businesses, too.

If you have air conditioning, don’t set it lower than normal when you first turn it on. That won’t cool your home or business any faster, and it could cost you more.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Proceed with caution

A TV commercial for a network of treatment centers encourages drug addicts to contact them for rehab. Another has New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie warning there is an epidemic of opioid addiction, but addicts have a way out.

“Help is within reach,” he says.

We have all seen these commercials, but perhaps you have not been — as I have — swallowing an oxycodone tablet while watching them.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It takes a village

Last week, people took to social media about an incident in the Village of Hokendauqua, Whitehall Township.

A neighborhood block had been taped off by police, cruisers and other emergency vehicles lined the street, and word spread that the coroner had been called to the scene because two bodies were discovered there.

Some surmised online that it was an overdose. Some suspected a murder-suicide. The latter might have seemed a bit far-fetched had Whitehall not had such a tragedy the week before.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate. My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden, and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher,” “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.

Another View

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Global approach necessary to combat climate change’s environmental effects

On June 1, President Donald Trump announced he was withdrawing the United States from the Paris Climate Agreement, saying the agreement is less about the climate and more about other countries gaining a financial advantage over the United States.

So, what is the Paris Climate Agreement and what are its terms?

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Get rid of “vulgar” programs

To the Editor:

Thank you and “ditto” from me to Mr. Bruce Frassinelli for his opinion article in the May 4 issue of The Press. I have been wanting the courage to lash out at someone for a long time but did not know how to address the vulgar, obscene, profane programming on TV and the radio lyrics played today.

I don’t call it music. It is noise pollution. It is everywhere — malls, grocery stores, restaurants and outdoor areas where someone like me would just like to sit quietly, read and enjoy scenery.