Whitehall-Coplay Press

Friday, October 18, 2019

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Oh, the lessons we’ve learned

The story goes that one man challenged a second man to write a children’s book using only 50 different words.

The first man was Bennett Cerf, founder of the Random House publishing company. The second man was Theodor Geisel, author, political cartoonist and animator.

The outcome of the bet: $50 in Geisel’s pocket and a little book titled “Green Eggs and Ham.”

The challenge was a win-win really. Random House, in 1960, published the work, which has sold more than 8 million copies.

Another view

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lack of candy is breaking hearts this Valentine’s Day

For those with a sweet tooth, a Valentine’s Day favorite might be tough to find this year.

Everyone is familiar with the classic Sweethearts candy featuring cute little messages like “Be Mine,” “Let’s Kiss” and “True Love.” However, due to a company buyout and health code violations, the original brand of these candies will not be ready in time for Valentine’s Day this year.

The original Sweethearts were made by New England Confectionery Company, better known as NECCO.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, February 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Treasure versus trash: When is the line crossed?

There was a brilliant mathematics teacher at the high school I attended. As the community was small, his children, who were also very smart, attended the same school.

Aside from what appeared to be their innate abilities in math and physics, I never suspected anything was different.

One day, a couple of friends and I, along with one of the teacher’s sons, went to his house.

I stepped inside the front door and could not believe what I saw.

Every inch of space — from floor to ceiling — was stacked with newspapers and books.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Eliminate school property taxes

To the Editor:

It’s that time again. The annual seizure of increased property taxes by our government schools system is upon us.

As in past years, we are given an amount the tax will increase; this year, it’s 3.79 percent, but we are told, “We are not going to finalize it at 3.79 percent.”

New year, same old story.

Where is the warehouse tax money going? How about a spending cut and tax decrease? That’s not likely to happen in the foreseeable future because we are now on the build-new-schools bandwagon. After Lehigh Elementary, which one will be next?

Another View

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Have we seen the last government shutdown over the border wall?

For 35 days, Americans watched as President Donald Trump shut down the federal government and was at an impasse with the U.S. House and Senate over $5.7 billion in funding for a border wall between the United States and Mexico.

This partial shutdown, which affected federal agencies including the Transportation Security Administration, Centers for Disease Control, the Food and Drug Administration, law enforcement agencies, and parks and museums, left 380,000 federal employees furloughed and 420,000 employees working without pay.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Because the boys watching today will be the men of tomorrow’

Have you seen the new Gillette commercial geared toward men that addresses bullying, toxic masculinity, sexual harassment and the #MeToo movement?

The commercial, which debuted Jan. 14 on social media, shows boys fighting while adults look on saying “boys will be boys,” instances of bullying, clips of sexual harassment and more while the narrator asks, “Is this the best a man can get?”

The narrator continues by saying, “Something has changed, and there is no going back,” while showing news clips of current events of sexual harassment and more.

Fighting Hunger: Volunteers continue Snack Pack Pals’ mission for fourth year

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

It has been four years since Leah Saliby, an eighth-grade English teacher, launched the Snack Pack Pals program in the Whitehall-Coplay School District. This program helps alleviate food insecurity for children attending the school district. This program originally began providing food for 50 students identified by district guidance counselors as being most food insecure at home. They received snack packs during the five long weekends of the school year: Thanksgiving, winter break, Presidents Day weekend, spring break and Memorial Day weekend.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month, Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.

Another View

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Early-morning ER trip Christmas Day helped ease our minds

My husband, Joe, and I went to bed Christmas Eve filled with anticipation. We couldn’t wait for our 21-month-old son, Benjamin, to wake up Christmas morning to see what presents Santa had left on the living room floor next to the fireplace. We knew this Christmas would be even more exciting than last year’s holiday since Ben is older, very playful and understands better.

I wasn’t too worried about how Ben’s voice sounded Christmas Eve after dinner and while putting him to bed. I remember thinking to myself, ‘Darn — he’s getting a cold for the holidays.’