Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Chosen words: The Gift

Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Have you heard the GOOD NEWS?

God has come to Earth

In a borrowed manger

In a wee one’s birth

Do you know he still lives

And His Spirit moves today

Through the followers He has chosen

Followers of The Way?

This way he came to teach

Is not the world’s, it’s true

He died so that we might

LIVE

A life that breathes anew

Will we recognize Him

When we see Him now

In the eyes of those who ache

Or display a furrowed brow?

Oh, how the world longs for rescue

From others, as from self

Guest view: Stock food pantries with BOGO items

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Denise Continenza, chair of the Communities That Care group, attended our Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative meeting Nov. 22.

She relayed a great posting she saw on Facebook that was intended for Advent (the four Sundays before Christmas), but this can be done monthly or as often as you wish to participate. I mentioned to our meeting attendees that this would be the article I will write in December.

Letter to the editor: Life will never be the same

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Residents who are beginning to complain about the FedEx warehousing activities and other proposed warehouses in Allen Township need to remind themselves that twice voters in Allen Township refused a ballot referendum to preserve farmland and open space. For a small increase in taxes, life might be different, but life will never be the same.

In 30 years, we will be like surrounding townships (Hanover, Bethlehem) with no farms at all.

John Stoffa

Kreidersville

(Editor’s note: Stoffa is a former Northampton County executive.)

Editor’s View: Media coverage of Pearl Harbor brings back memories of war horrors retold

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Watching televised news reports and human interest stories this past week on the 75th anniversary of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, Dec. 7, 1941, immediately brought back memories of the many late nights my mother and I spent holding and listening to my father cry at the kitchen table.

My dad enlisted in the U.S. Navy at the age of 20, following the attack. He served aboard the USS Monitor, a landing ship vehicle-5, crossing the equator Oct. 11, 1944.

Guest view: Family letters provide glimpse of war life

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Recently, I discovered history in a packet of letters my mother had kept since World War II. The timing was perfect. Just when our nation’s brave men and women who served in the military were being honored and celebrated on Veterans Day, I was immersed in the innocent musings of a young soldier who paid the ultimate price for his service.

Robert was killed in action in France at the age of 22. He and I share DNA. He was an uncle I never got to meet.

Another view: Don’t let thieves steal your holiday spirit

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are joyous and festive times.

Whether you are busy baking, decorating your home or shopping for that perfect gift, the holiday shopping season went into full swing on Black Friday.

Thieves also are out shopping for that perfect gift. But instead of in stores, they are “shopping” your vehicle, front porch or inside your home.

Letter to the editor: Pumpkins are better used than rotting

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

There are two fields on opposite sides of Route 248 in Moore Township that are filled with pumpkins. These fields are located about a mile apart. They were harvested on weekdays for about a month. The larger field had four or five tractor trailers backed into it with one truck cab hauling away each trailer when it was fully packed with pumpkins.

The local grapevine states that the larger pumpkins were harvested, and the rest — thousands — were left behind to rot.

Letter to the editor: Town watch groups are in need of dedicated volunteers

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I read with interest a recent “Guest View” piece in The Press. The writer presents frustration that Whitehall Crime Watch has become dormant.

Coplay’s seven-time nationally recognized Town Watch, founded in 1995, has fallen on challenging times during 2016. I was a leader and officer in CTW (Coplay Town Watch) for nearly 20 years. I vacated the leader role in January 2016 due to other responsibilities. I remain a CTW member.

Editor’s view: Thank you to our generous readers

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Many families have someone serving in the military who will not be home this holiday season to celebrate with loved ones.

These individuals are currently serving our country in Kuwait, Afghanistan, Iraq and many other countries around the world. They volunteered to protect and serve our country.

Thanks to the generosity of The Press readers, businesses, fire companies, clubs and others, military personnel will have something to smile about this Christmas.