Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Guest view: Strive to embrace small moments of life

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

It’s so easy to become consumed with the hustle and bustle of life — those “things” we believe to be important, meaningful and self sustaining.

It’s often in those times of uncertainty and crisis — whether unexpected or expected — that we begin to ask the wider universal questions related to life. What difference have I made? Who have I impacted? Have I tried to be kind and giving to another?

Another view: A different kind of October surprise

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The news was big.

In an announcement on WCCO, television news reporter Esme Murphy intoned, “It’s simply the right thing to do for the 15,000 people who work here. And it’s good business.”

The reason?

Mall of America, in Bloomington, Minn., a concern billing itself as “the largest retail and entertainment destination in North America,” would not open Thanksgiving Day 2016.

Another view: Poll workers praised for steadfast service

Thursday, November 10, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

By the time you read this, the incredibly emotional and polarizing election season will have concluded with Election Day. I am writing this Sunday night, two days before the election, not knowing the outcome.

I hope each and every one of you went to the polls to cast your votes Tuesday. When you did, you were greeted and assisted by a number of poll workers. These are your neighbors, residents of your borough or township, who work tirelessly twice a year to accurately record your votes.

They do not, I believe, deserve to be accused of attempting to rig an election.

Letter to the editor: False claims about Donate Life PA Act (House Bill 30) must stop

Thursday, November 10, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

On Oct. 27, several Lehigh Valley Press newspapers ran a column and a Guest View op-ed regarding the Donate Life PA Act.

Both stem from the same blatantly false statements made by lobbyist Susan Shanaman on behalf of the state coroners’ association.

I appreciate the opportunity to share the facts about this important legislation.

My name is Bill Hankee. I am the father of a true hero in the eyes of many.

My 22-year-old daughter, Krysta, donated her organs five days after collapsing in a New York gym.

Editor’s view: Enough already: Counting down to Nov. 9

Thursday, November 3, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

We interrupt this program to bring you ... yet another campaign commercial.

Haven’t we seen enough? Don’t we already know every misstep each candidate has taken?

The good news: We have to endure these ads for just a few more days.

The bad news: It is expected they will hit a “fever pitch,” according to researchers, who believe the last-chance campaigning will invade your favorite radio station, your smartphone and even the movie screen at your local theater.

Editor’s view: You can have my heart ... but only if you are white

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

House Bill 30, proposed by state Rep. Joseph Petrarca, D-55th (Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana counties), should send chills down the spines of all residents of Pennsylvania, especially those parents and others who objected to Common Core teaching methods.

Petrarca’s bill, co-sponsored by 93 other state representatives, includes ideas from the Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Project classroom toolkit, an initiative of the Pennsylvania Department of Education, for teaching students in the state.

Letter to the editor: Mako’s priorities are questioned

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Phillips Armstrong, Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners president, has made himself available to debate his opponent, Mr. Mako, in three public forums to ensure that the public has the chance to make an educated decision about who will best represent them in Harrisburg for the next two years. Mr. Mako has canceled all three — unilaterally.

Guest view: House Bill 30 could transform organ donation process in Pennsylvania

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Organ donation can be a charitable act to help others in need.

Gift of Life has received many awards over the years and, in fact, for the last eight years Gift of Life has been No. 1 in the nation and practically the world for procuring donations of organs and tissues.

Now, the organ/tissue procurement industry has convinced the Pennsylvania General Assembly to vote on a bill (HB 30) to drastically revise the rules under which it can acquire your family’s organs and tissues.