Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Guest View

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Nearly 9 in 10 seniors drive car that does not fit their needs, AAA says

With nearly 90 percent of motorists 65 and older suffering from health issues that affect driving safety, finding a car that not only adapts to conditions such as lack of flexibility or muscle strength while maintaining safety and comfort can be difficult.

Data from a new AAA survey also reveals only one in 10 senior drivers with aging health issues are driving a vehicle with features such as keyless entry and larger dashboard controls that can assist with such conditions.

House committee releases property tax reform recommendations

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

State Rep. Justin Simmons, R-131st, announced Nov. 30 the House Select Committee on Property Tax Reform has unanimously approved its final report, which includes recommendations to be considered by the House of Representatives.

Simmons was one of 13 House members from both parties who were appointed to the committee last June and charged with investigating all aspects of the issue, including municipal, county and school property taxes and releasing a final report by Nov. 30.

Another View

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The love of a grandparent is priceless

My grandparents, Geza and Violet Janzso, were amazing people.

They not only raised their own four children, but also openly accepted the added responsibility of taking my two sisters and me in, and raising us as well.

Now that both have passed away, I seem to appreciate more than ever their many sacrifices and the love, compassion and direction they provided to me.

What's even more incredible is that they were not only grandparents, but in every sense of the word, parents.

Players present 'Best Christmas Pageant Ever'

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

"The Best Christmas Pageant Ever," a one-act show, is being presented by local Christian theater group, Players of the Stage.

Based on Barbara Robinson's work of the same name, the play tells the story of six delinquent children who go to church for the first time after being told there will be snacks served. Despite protests from church members, the youngsters are given roles in the Sunday School's Christmas play.

Laurel Strickland portrays Beth Bradley. Natalie Sampsell plays Grace Bradley.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Congratulations to the team, coaches

To the Editor:

Congratulations to the 130-pound Catty football team for winning the Colonial League championship.

What an accomplishment for a first-year head coach and his team of great assistants.

This is a team that did not even have enough kids to field a team last year and had fewer than 15 players this year.

The 130-pound team lost only one game all season, to Bangor (9-1).

They won the rest of their games, many by the mercy rule.

This team was quite exciting to watch, with 30 plus offensive plays and many defensive schemes.

Legislation accomplishments abound in 2012

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The 2011-12 legislative session wrapped up in November, and before we begin the new session Jan. 1, 2013, I think it is wise to take a look back and see what we have accomplished.

Of course, some years are more productive than others but, this past year, we have been able to make significant progress on several fronts that will help improve the business climate in Pennsylvania, increase safety and protection, and honor our military men and women.

Another View

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Make the holidays memorable for family members with dementia or Alzheimer's

Hanukkah and Christmas are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, laugh, sing, decorate and exchange presents.

For people living with Alzheimer's or dementia, the holidays can be a difficult and stressful time.

I have found with my mother, who was diagnosed several years ago with dementia, this is the time of year when she becomes more depressed.

Governor announces two programs aimed at saving lives

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Governor Tom Corbett announced Nov. 9 PennDOT is launching two voluntary programs aimed at saving the lives of Pennsylvanians in emergency situations – the Yellow Dot and Emergency Contact Information programs.

"Both of these programs speak for people when they can't speak for themselves, so medical concerns can be addressed and contacts can be reached as quickly as possible," Corbett said. "When someone is in a crash or they find themselves in an emergency situation, it's critical that emergency responders quickly find out as much as they can about the victim."

letters to the editor

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Coplay opening doors

To the Editor:

In recent Whitehall-Coplay Press articles, attention was drawn to the unacceptable form of government practiced the past five years in Coplay. A clarification is needed.

Coplay council for decades had seven council committees. Each council member was a chair of a committee. Committees were unwisely increased to 15 committees during the past three years or so.

Editor's view

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Finding ways to be grateful

On Oct. 3, 1789, President George Washington proclaimed the Day of National Thanksgiving.

"Whereas it is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits and humbly to implore his protection and favor," Washington is quoted as writing in his proclamation.