Whitehall-Coplay Press

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

New law establishes Pennsylvania Veterans' Trust Fund

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania is home to more than 900,000 military veterans. Their tremendous service to our nation stands as a point of pride for our commonwealth.

It takes a special person to be a soldier, sailor, Marine, member of the Air Force or a member of the Coast Guard.

How many people would want to or be able to face the threats and uncertainties that our service members have and still do on a daily basis?

editor's view

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Holidays aren't celebrations for everyone

I spent Sunday at a fundraiser for the family of a 2012 Northampton Area High School grad who died recently from brain cancer.

The benefit raised money to help the family of Alec Ferullo, a 2012 Northampton Area High School graduate who died Oct. 8 of brain cancer. His parents had to take unpaid leaves of absence from their jobs in order to care for him during his last few months.

As I watched people buy raffle tickets, baked goods and souvenirs, I couldn't help but think how soon Thanksgiving will be here – and then Christmas and New Year's.

Editor's VIEW

Thursday, November 8, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

For many, Sandy meant living off the grid

After more than six days without power, the popping drone of the generator began to sound as normal as the chirping birds and the occasional passing car I used to hear.

"When are you supposed to get your power back?" I was asked Friday.

"Christmas," I said.

The other person paused briefly as if startled.

"Oh, my word," she said. "You're serious!"

Almost. A sense of humor definitely helped my husband, Sean, and I deal with the circumstances. But beneath the humor lies a grain of truth.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, November 8, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Do more than is required of you'

With the tumult and ballyhoo of the current election cycle behind us, let's look to the future with a keen eye toward our past.

Our veterans stood tall when the threats of fascism, communism and terrorism threatened our security.

Their blind and unyielding dedication to defending democracy and freedom has continually helped preserve all we hold dear as American citizens.

Another View Learning how to discern the whole truth

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

I don't know about you, but the amount of information presented during the presidential and vice presidential debates this year sometimes left my head spinning.

While I found it easy, as each debate has concluded, to determine which candidate had presented himself most admirably, knowing how to interpret the purported "facts" presented was a challenge with which I needed some help.

The candidates spent weeks preparing for these debates, carefully crafting ways of presenting their viewpoints that would read well to their target audiences.

Election Policy

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Thursday, October 25, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.