Whitehall-Coplay Press

Friday, July 19, 2019

Editor's View

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Government shutdown hurts in many ways

Babies and spoiled brats.

Yep, I'm talking about the members of the United States Congress.

The recent government shutdown is an example of the abysmal failure of our elected officials to behave like responsible adults and work out their differences in a respectable and professional manner.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 municipal election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Your community, your newspaper, your life

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

As newspaper executives struggle over whether the news should be digital first, tablet first, SMS first or print first, readers know exactly what they want their local newspaper to be – community first.

Reading a newspaper is not like reading a novel, a magazine, a history book, poetry, prose or any other type of literature.

Newspapers are not about what has happened in the past, what is happening someplace else or what happens in an author's imagination.

Newspapers are about us.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 municipal election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another view

Thursday, October 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Let us now praise famous ... libraries

I am a library geek.

The evidence is clear. Check my wallet and you will find cards for Emmaus Public Library, covered with stickers permitting access to the Allentown Public Library system and "Access Pennsylvania," an online carte-blanche of sorts for libraries throughout the state. I have a card, expired, for Cressman Library at Cedar Crest College and, the prize of the collection, an ACCESS card to the New York Public Library: The Research Libraries.

Another View

Thursday, September 26, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

College: Getting the most for your money

Millions of college students around the country are now experiencing their first time away from home with total freedom.

These students are taking on not only the challenge of achieving a strong grade point average, but also facing hurdles their parents did not have, especially the cost of the education they are acquiring.

In a recent speech at the University of Buffalo, President Barack Obama addressed the soaring cost of a college diploma while acknowledging the importance of higher education.

Guest View

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Dangerous driving by parents equals dangerous driving by teens, SADD says

With the holidays rapidly approaching, many teenagers will be behind the wheel visiting family and friends … and often copying the driving behavior of their parents.

But, is that a good thing? Not necessarily.

New research from SADD and Liberty Mutual Insurance reveals an alarming example of "do what I say, not what I do" when it comes to distracted and dangerous driving.

Preeclampsia, a silent killer

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Dawn and her husband Kirk were eagerly anticipating the birth of their first child. Dawn was six and a half months into her pregnancy and everything had been going smoothly. She had experienced some unusual swelling the week before, but she was told not to worry about it. In short, she was like most expecting mothers in Pennsylvania, who give birth to nearly 150,000 babies each year.

But that was about to change.

Pa. House to tackle transportation issues

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania has the fifth largest state-maintained road system in the nation, which includes 32,000 bridges and 120,000 miles of road.

Unfortunately, over the years our transportation infrastructure has slowly fallen into disrepair and projects are not proceeding as quickly as we would like.

Much of this has been caused by several years of a depressed economy that led to tight transportation budgets, coupled with rising construction costs and a decrease in revenue from the gas tax, mostly due to people driving more fuel efficient vehicles.