Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, October 21, 2018

Another View

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Violence is not the solution to our problems

Many of us were glued to the television, Internet and radio this past week, as we followed the Boston Marathon bombings and the apprehension of one suspect and the death of his brother.

These events have caused me to ask of myself how and why man desires to harm other humans.

Thomas Hobbes argued in "Leviathan" man in a state of nature was "solitary, poor, nasty, brutish and short."

There is no question about it, more than 300 years later, man still has a predilection for nastiness and a sick bent to harm his fellow man, by word and deed.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Boston tragedy once again rocks my wonderful world

It is hard to imagine a wonderful world like Louis Armstrong described in his famous song.

This latest mass tragedy, Monday at the Boston Marathon, had me again glued to the television once my fellow editor Deb Palmieri called and told me to put on the television.

Whoever is responsible for creating this havoc in Boston has not only injured 176 people and killed three individuals as of Tuesday morning, they have robbed me of my freedom.

Yes, I understand if I take this stand I am letting them win.

Kindergarten: ready or not?

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Every time I conduct a program for parents of soon-to-be kindergarteners, two questions inevitably come up.

One is, "My child is so smart that I am afraid she will be bored in kindergarten. Should I put her right in first grade?"

To this, I usually respond, that given the structure and higher demands of kindergarten compared to what it was years ago, this child is very ready for the pace of today's kindergarten.

Editor's View

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Keep pill bottles away from children to keep them safe

I watched in disbelief a recent report on The Today Show showing 4-year-old children opening safety caps on various types of medication.

I was not shocked, though, as we experienced the same thing in our own home many years ago.

When my oldest son was about 5 years old, he pulled a chair over to a kitchen cabinet, climbed up on the counter and found a bottle of vitamins which, in his mind, I suppose, looked like candy.

After a short period of time, my husband found him with the pills in his mouth and the red dye from the pills all over his mouth.

Guest View

Thursday, April 4, 2013 by DAWN SETTLE and DONNA BENSON in Opinion

Ask your representative to support study of gifted education

State Rep. Ryan Aument, R-Lancaster, introduced House Resolution 139 (H.R. 139) that called for a comprehensive study of educational programs available to gifted students in Pennsylvania school districts.

The House Education Committee passed this resolution with a unanimous vote to send it to the full House for second consideration April 8 and a final house vote April 9 or 10.

The Pennsylvania Association for Gifted Education fully supports H.R. 139 and asks for help to make this gifted study a reality.

Another View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What's in your filing cabinet?

It happens every year at my house as the April 15 tax-filing deadline nears. Once my IRS forms are filed, I take the folder with all the supporting receipts, invoices and forms to our home office filing cabinet to store.

Inside this drawer are numerous hanging file folders containing insurance policies, investment documents, automobile titles and loan papers and other documents. Stuffing the new file into what little remaining space there is, I ask myself, "Do I really need all this stuff?" and then, "Should some of this be more securely stored?"

Guest View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Routine eye exams by ophthalmologist can save your vision

The Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology reminds Pennsylvania residents a baseline eye disease screening at age 40 is critical to preserving healthy vision.

Early signs of eye disease and changes in vision may start to occur around age 40, and even those with perfect vision should be screened at that time.

People with eye disease symptoms or risk factors should also be screened.