Whitehall-Coplay Press

Friday, December 14, 2018

Protect yourself from identity theft or be sorry later

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

If you ask my husband, Facebook will bring about the end of the civilized world as we know it.

While I'm not quite so apocalyptic in my thinking, a recent experience on Facebook really opened my eyes to the value of paying attention to your privacy settings.

As the editor of three local newspapers, the line between work and home is often blurred. Many sources have my office, home and cell numbers. I've written about my life and personal experiences in columns.

Candidates, voters, respect the opposition

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Have we gotten to the point where the opposition has to resort to stealing campaign signs in order to sway the vote?

I am an outsider; I came to visit Coplay from Florida in the midst of this campaign. I know what political mud-slinging is all about. I worked the democratic Presidential campaign as well as local campaigns so I know what can happen when it comes down to the wire!

Guest View

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Saluting nurses at St. Luke's

"Delivering Quality and Innovation in Patient Care," the American Nurses Association 2013 Nurse Week theme, acknowledges the invaluable nursing contributions to quality and innovation across the country.

St. Luke's University Health Network's nurses demonstrate their commitment to quality and innovation each and every day. Whether they practice in primary care, emergency departments, operating rooms, clinics or inpatient nursing units, St. Luke's nurses continually search for ways to improve the safety and outcomes of their care.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Guest View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Prom, graduation dangerous times for teen drivers, SADD says

Prom and graduation season, the Fourth of July and summer vacation give pause to parents of teenagers everywhere.

Why?

Because celebration paired with newfound freedom can trigger tragedy on our roads and highways.

Indeed, young people themselves report that these times of the year are the most dangerous when it comes to driving. Alcohol and other drugs are the primary reasons.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reader disagrees with Editor's View

To the Editor:

Deb Palmieri's fatuous comments regarding the Boston bombings [Editorial, May 1 issue] reveal a dearth of historical insight. They're also racist.

For her, all Muslims are "them" – the ones who want to destroy "our" way of life. Her bizarre link between the construction of a mosque and a piece of 9-11 airplane wreckage indicates she feels all Muslims bear responsibility for the work of a couple dozen terrorists.

Another View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

On being brave

We've been hearing a lot in the news about acts of bravery recently.

When bombs were detonated at the April 15 Boston Marathon, dozens and dozens of parade spectators rushed to the aid of the hundreds of victims instead of running for cover.

Many lives were saved because of their acts of courage that day.

A few days later, hundreds of police officers placed themselves in harm's way in pursuit of the alleged terrorists.

These are acts of valor, to be sure.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Residents thank borough, community for park

To the Editor:

I am reaching out as a part of and on behalf of the Northampton community skatepark. Summer is just around the corner and already so much has been accomplished at our hometown park. All of us here deeply understand how fortunate we are to be able to share this common ground where younger generations come and are welcomed to learn, form lasting friendships and contribute to the "with hard work comes great reward" atmosphere of the park.

Local Muslims condemn marathon bombing

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Members of Muslims and Christians United (MCU) are shocked and horrified by the cowardly bombing at the Boston Marathon.

MCU, which is based in the Lehigh Valley, condemns the attack in the strongest possible terms. The individuals who carried out the attacks do not represent Muslims, nor do their actions represent Islam.

Our group's vision is to promote justice and peace, and we will continue our joint efforts.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.