Whitehall-Coplay Press

Thursday, February 21, 2019

Guest View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Prom, graduation dangerous times for teen drivers, SADD says

Prom and graduation season, the Fourth of July and summer vacation give pause to parents of teenagers everywhere.

Why?

Because celebration paired with newfound freedom can trigger tragedy on our roads and highways.

Indeed, young people themselves report that these times of the year are the most dangerous when it comes to driving. Alcohol and other drugs are the primary reasons.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Reader disagrees with Editor's View

To the Editor:

Deb Palmieri's fatuous comments regarding the Boston bombings [Editorial, May 1 issue] reveal a dearth of historical insight. They're also racist.

For her, all Muslims are "them" – the ones who want to destroy "our" way of life. Her bizarre link between the construction of a mosque and a piece of 9-11 airplane wreckage indicates she feels all Muslims bear responsibility for the work of a couple dozen terrorists.

Another View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

On being brave

We've been hearing a lot in the news about acts of bravery recently.

When bombs were detonated at the April 15 Boston Marathon, dozens and dozens of parade spectators rushed to the aid of the hundreds of victims instead of running for cover.

Many lives were saved because of their acts of courage that day.

A few days later, hundreds of police officers placed themselves in harm's way in pursuit of the alleged terrorists.

These are acts of valor, to be sure.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Residents thank borough, community for park

To the Editor:

I am reaching out as a part of and on behalf of the Northampton community skatepark. Summer is just around the corner and already so much has been accomplished at our hometown park. All of us here deeply understand how fortunate we are to be able to share this common ground where younger generations come and are welcomed to learn, form lasting friendships and contribute to the "with hard work comes great reward" atmosphere of the park.

Local Muslims condemn marathon bombing

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Members of Muslims and Christians United (MCU) are shocked and horrified by the cowardly bombing at the Boston Marathon.

MCU, which is based in the Lehigh Valley, condemns the attack in the strongest possible terms. The individuals who carried out the attacks do not represent Muslims, nor do their actions represent Islam.

Our group's vision is to promote justice and peace, and we will continue our joint efforts.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another View

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Stay safe as you venture outdoors this spring

Of the four seasons, spring is my favorite with everything beginning to awaken and renew after a long winter.

Trees and flowers are blooming; the birds are chirping and wild animals are awaking from hibernation.

Spring is also the time when Americans begin to spend more time outdoors exercising, playing sports, swimming, bicycle riding, camping, grilling and having picnics.

Even though spring brings warmer weather, it also brings with it many dangers.

Older drivers: Try before you buy

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Last week I did something I had not done in 29 years. I bought a new car.

To regular readers and friends who know and admire my spiffy 1984 wagon: Don't worry. I did not part with it. Perish the thought.

Actually, that wonderful old car of mine was the main reason my husband and I decided to splurge on a new one.

With more than 130,000 miles on the odometer, my little red wagon was working too hard and deserves a good waxing and some garage time.

My husband's 1991 two-door model has logged more than 200,000 miles, so we are reluctant to drive it long distances.

Editor's View

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

They can knock us down but we return stronger and taller than ever

How fitting it is, following the April 15 Boston Marathon bombings by two brothers with alleged ties to violent Muslim extremists, that the final piece of One World Trade Center, the spire, was scheduled to be lifted in place on Monday.

Unfortunately, high winds and bad weather forced a temporary delay.

Installation of the 408-foot, 800-ton spire began last December with pieces made in New Jersey and Canada.

Another View

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Violence is not the solution to our problems

Many of us were glued to the television, Internet and radio this past week, as we followed the Boston Marathon bombings and the apprehension of one suspect and the death of his brother.

These events have caused me to ask of myself how and why man desires to harm other humans.

Thomas Hobbes argued in "Leviathan" man in a state of nature was "solitary, poor, nasty, brutish and short."

There is no question about it, more than 300 years later, man still has a predilection for nastiness and a sick bent to harm his fellow man, by word and deed.