Whitehall-Coplay Press

Friday, July 10, 2020

First comes grief, then compounded grief

Thursday, February 13, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Experiencing grief when a loved one dies is natural. It is expected.

However, the grief should come from sadness and loss, not from the financial institutions and businesses the survivors have to deal with following the death of someone dear.

My siblings and I, mourning the unexpected passing of our mother recently, were "educated" quickly when we tried to settle her financial affairs.

My sister's attempts to redeem our mother's small life insurance policy (payable to this sister) initially were futile.

Another view

Thursday, February 13, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

The cost of love...let me count the ways

A dozen red roses for your sweetie on Valentine's Day is going to cost you about $80.

That's $6.67 per rose, and that's before tax and delivery charges are added.

Dinner out at a fancy restaurant will set you back even more, and a trip to the jewelry store could really drain your bank account.

How do I love thee? Let me count the dollars.

America's love affair with spending big bucks to say, "I love you," it seems to me, is getting out of control.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, February 6, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

FedEx project would bring a traffic nightmare to the surrounding area

To the Editor:

It's obvious an industrial area is going to be developed on what is presently airport property in Allen Township. I have some concerns about the way the airport is going about this project.

Someone should be responsible for the design, layout and management of the entire property rather than the airport peddling one parcel at a time. Airport management over the years has acted with gross negligence and cannot and should not be trusted to manage such a project.

Some tips for folks living with low vision

Thursday, February 6, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

The first thing I noticed when I visited an older friend's apartment were the large colorful dots.

Was this a new, funky style of decorating?

No, she said, just a creative, adaptive aid to help her navigate her personal terrain more easily, despite diminished vision.

She, or perhaps a helpful friend or relative, had placed the raised dots on the stove and microwave and toaster to mark important temperature settings.

Different color dots also marked various light switches on the apartment walls.

Reviewing 2013 legislation

Thursday, January 30, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

We accomplished a good deal in the state Legislature this year.

In particular, I am proud of the child protection measures we were able to pass and have signed into law.

Folllowing the Jerry Sandusky scandal, we formed a Task Force on Child Protection and took a hard look at how best to improve Pennsylvania's laws regarding the protection of our children.

Before we completed the 2013 session, we had nine bills signed into law.

another view

Thursday, January 30, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Remember those in need this winter

Imagine, if you will, spending a night this winter, on the streets, with nowhere to go. All you have to offer protection from the elements, are the clothes on your back, a jacket, shoes, gloves and a knit cap.

Could you withstand the frigid temperature and wet snow, sleet and rain?

What would you eat? Where would you sleep?

Would you be able to maintain your sanity?

Not pleasant thoughts.

For many across the Lehigh Valley, braving the cold day in and day out, searching for the next meal and roof to sleep under is a regular occurrence.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 30, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Ode to Coplay

That dot on the map you can hardly see

Is a little town called Coplay.

The people are friendly and will always say Hi

to anyone who passes by.

Trees are lined along the street,

In front of houses trim and neat.

There are stores to buy your food

And restaurants that are very good.

Mail is delivered every day,

Trash is picked up and taken away.

They have police and firemen too,

Also a truck that is quite new.

For the kids they have a school

Also a heated swimming pool.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 23, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

In the Country

In the country the world disappears when it snows,

For the lack of harsh city light.

Trees are tall threatening ghosts in woods,

Looming large, mysterious, white.

But snow does not last in luminescence,

Overwhelmed by steel and concrete.

It cannot cling to such great heights,

And is trampled by hurrying feet.

Barren fields and forests welcome snow,

And find invisibility.

Hills, hedges and haystacks brown

All become rather hard to see.

The countryside is one vast blur

Another View

Thursday, January 23, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Infected email can ruin credit and one's life

Upper Macungie Township Police recently issued an advisory via Nixle from the Maryland Judiciary System warning the public about an email being sent to residents claiming the recipient is involved in a court case.

The email, however, contains a virus that infects the recipient's computer.

According to the U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team website, unsolicited commercial email or spam is the starting point for many email scams.

The team recommends you can minimize your chances of falling victim to an email scam by: