Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, June 6, 2020

Another view

Wednesday, August 28, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Our lungs are on fire

There are currently a record number of fires burning in the Amazon rainforest.

Often referred to as “the lungs of the world,” the Amazon rainforest is the world’s largest tropical rainforest, famed for its biodiversity. The rainforest is home to approximately 3 million species of plants and animals and 1 million people. This major source of oxygen for the planet covers much of northwestern Brazil and extends into Colombia, Peru and other South American countries.

Fighting Hunger: Breakfast camps have successful summer

Wednesday, August 28, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

We extend our heartfelt gratitude to two Hokendauqua organizations that have gone all out to support our Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative’s free summer breakfast camps.

First Presbyterian Church of Hokendauqua, located at 3005 S. Front St., donated a generous $1,000 check. Two of its members, Carol Clancy and Sue Butchinski, were co-chairs at the Coplay camp.

The church’s neighbor, Hokey Firehall, located at 3022 S. Second St., provided a truckload of much-needed food for us.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, August 21, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Preventing mass shootings requires a multidiscipline approach

Banning the sale of long guns will not stop someone hell-bent on killing large numbers of people in one horrific event.

Most who have committed mass shootings (the Oct. 1, 2017, Las Vegas massacre excluded) are young males in their teens or 20s.

I have no doubt that if AK-15s or AK-47s were banned, the mass killings would continue, perhaps on a much larger and deadlier scale.

Take away the guns, and bombs could be next.

Instructions for making bombs are readily available on the Internet, and the components can be purchased easily at local hardware stores.

Another View

Wednesday, August 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Stopping mass shootings is everyone’s responsibility

Once again, Americans are grieving and on edge in the wake of the recent mass shootings in El Paso, Texas, and Dayton, Ohio.

According to media reports, on the morning of Aug. 3, Patrick Wood Crusius, 21, allegedly drove 650 miles from his home in Allen, Texas, to an El Paso Walmart, where he killed 22 people and injured 24 others.

Less than 24 hours later, Connor Stephen Betts, 24, of Bellbrook, Ohio, allegedly killed nine people, including his 22-year-old sister, Megan, and injured 27 others in a historical district in Dayton, before he was killed by police.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, August 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Retention ponds may cause problems

To the Editor:

Well, it seems our little country townships have become a magnet for warehouses. Everybody and their brother are looking to build along our two-lane major highways and our cow paths with absolutely no regard to the residents who live here. So now, we are looking at major traffic problems, noise (beep-beep-beep), bright lights, maintenance of our roads and bridges ($$), only to name a few.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Bob Casey: ‘Enough’

“Enough. We don’t have to live like this. Politicians who refuse to take action to reduce gun violence are complicit in this carnage. If we’re going to truly confront this uniquely American problem, we have to speak uncomfortable truths. Over and over again, domestic terrorists use high powered, military-style assault weapons to kill our children and our families. There are a whole range of steps that must be taken. Congress’s first priority must be passing universal background checks, limiting the size of magazines and banning military-style assault weapons, among other measures.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Pat Toomey: ‘The perpetrators of these murders are cowards’

“The mass shootings in El Paso and Dayton are the latest, horrific examples of the violent scourge that is gripping America.

“The perpetrators of these murders are cowards.

“We must do more to keep guns out of the hands of psychopaths.

“While no law will end mass shootings entirely, it’s time for Congress to act to help keep our communities safer.

“We should start by passing bipartisan proposals such as my legislation with Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., to expand background checks to all commercial firearm sales.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Pa. Gov. Tom Wolf: ‘We can and must take action’

“Frances and I are mourning an especially horrific 24 hours of gun violence in America. We’re praying for the victims of El Paso and Dayton and two young women shot in Philadelphia last night.

“Many ills contribute to this rising violence. We can and must take action.

“We can ban assault weapons and institute stricter background checks. We can make communities safer. We can target white nationalism and promote tolerance. We can invest in mental health care and help those struggling.

“We cannot accept this violence as normal.

“We must act.”

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Bob Casey: ‘Enough’

“Enough. We don’t have to live like this. Politicians who refuse to take action to reduce gun violence are complicit in this carnage. If we’re going to truly confront this uniquely American problem, we have to speak uncomfortable truths. Over and over again, domestic terrorists use high powered, military-style assault weapons to kill our children and our families. There are a whole range of steps that must be taken. Congress’s first priority must be passing universal background checks, limiting the size of magazines and banning military-style assault weapons, among other measures.