Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, December 10, 2017

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A very ‘Lucky’ adventure

Everyone loves a little adventure now and then, especially when you are a 3-1/2-year-old black and tan tabby named Lucky from Lower Macungie.

Oh, and did I mention he is blind?

On March 1, Lucky began his adventure around 1:15 a.m., somehow living the life of an escape artist and leaving the comforts of his home in the Ancient Oaks West development.

A flier was placed on social media sites and sent to various news outlets asking for help in locating the escapee March 2.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wisdom in the age of dementia

Last week, former teen idol David Cassidy announced his dementia diagnosis.

According to media reports, the singer and television star, who once was the object of numerous fan clubs and had the ability to pack music venues with screaming tween and teenage girls, was struggling to remember lyrics to his songs while on tour.

Musician Glen Campbell announced his diagnosis of Alzheimer’s in June 2011 and headlined a farewell tour, with three of his children in the band, to perform for fans.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Cat owner questions officer’s promotion

To the Editor:

We just read the Catasauqua Press Feb. 23 article about the new animal control policy in North Catasauqua. It sounds wonderful and would have helped our little Sugar.

Funny, though, how the borough never asked or tried to get any community involvement on the matter. My family for sure has some great ideas. They didn’t even have the courtesy to say anything to us about this upcoming policy change. This could’ve been a measure of good faith between the borough and its residents. We never even got an informal apology from the borough or the officer in question.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Who gets to decide the legitimacy of the media?

Recently, newly elected U.S. President Donald Trump has been questioning and bashing the media for its reporting of his administration.

Trump calls the media that has done its job by asking the hard questions “fake news.”

Just this past week, the White House barred The New York Times and CNN from press briefings.

I don’t know about you, but I find Trump’s criticism and excluding media outlets from briefings alarming.

Check out the charity before writing the check

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It seems everyone wants our money.

As the holiday season approached, my husband and I were inundated with mailings and telephone calls requesting donations for a multitude of charities, including quite a few unfamiliar to us.

I am sure some organizations we supported in the past sold their donor lists to similar organizations, and soon the pleas for help (along with calendars, address labels and greeting cards) began stacking up on my desk.

Even my late husband, gone more than 25 years, received some appeals for money. Good luck with that!

Another view: We need to worry about climate change now, not later

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

“The climate is changing, it’s our fault and we got to get to work on this.”

— Bill Nye, scientist, in a video release for the documentary “Bill Nye the Science Guy”

“The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.”

— Genesis 2:15

“If you besiege a town for a long time, making war against it in order to take it, you must not destroy its trees by wielding an ax against them. Although you may take food from them, you must not cut them down. Are trees in the field human beings that they should come under siege from you?”

No two couples are alike

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

One winter evening, I dropped in on a friend for a quick visit. A cozy fire glowed in the fireplace as my friend and her husband, clad in their flannel jammies, cuddled under a blanket on the love seat. They were watching one of their favorite TV shows together. Mugs of hot chocolate sat on their laps. After some conversation about the weather and our kids, I couldn’t help but comment on the way they were spending the evening.

“Do you do this every night?” I asked kind of incredulously.

Another view: Travel ban shows White House ineptitude

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

President Donald Trump’s Jan. 27 executive order has led to some chaotic results that are making me nervous about our country’s new leader and his White House staff.

I am not surprised the order, which blocks admission to the United States by individuals from seven countries, was issued. After all, one of Trump’s campaign promises was to institute a policy of “extreme vetting” to keep the country safe from terrorists. We did not have to wait long for him to take the action. The executive order was signed just eight days after his inauguration.

Editor’s view: Keep calm and …

Friday, February 10, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How would you complete that statement today?

In the wake of a highly contentious election, and an equally stressful postelection season, people seem to be struggling to find their source of calm and healing.

Would you choose to pray or protest?

Do you find comfort in the company of like-minded citizens, even if they are complete strangers? Or, do you find yourself staying close to home and holding your loved ones just a little closer?

I would complete the above statement in two ways: Keep calm and stay educated. And keep calm and journal.