Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Chosen Words Leaf Motif Carpet

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

This carpet I observe today

Of yellow, brown and red

Distinguished by its leaf motif

Brought down from overhead

From brilliant canopy display

Tall hickory of golden hue

Maples mingling their crimson,

orange and green skirts

A sight for all to view

Leaves sifting slowly to the earth

Protection from above

From winter’s dread cold, sullen winds

A carpeting of love

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Another view: Don’t let creepy clown sightings ruin your Halloween spirit

Thursday, October 20, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Dressing in costume, playing pranks, telling scary stories, attending spooky parties and trick-or-treating for candy are all part of traditional Halloween fun.

The reported “creepy clown” sightings over the last two months across the country, which are being fueled by social media, are not a new Halloween phenomenon.

Editor’s view: This month, it’s all about the breasts

Thursday, October 13, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

If this kind of talk makes you uncomfortable, please don’t continue reading.

If you knew of a way to potentially save the life of a woman you love, would you share the information?

According to breastcancer.org, about one in eight women in the United States will develop invasive breast cancer in her lifetime.

In 2016, an estimated 246,660 new cases of invasive breast cancer are expected to be diagnosed in women, along with 61,000 new cases of non-invasive (in situ) breast cancer.

Letter to the editor: Mayor supports Armstrong for 183rd

Thursday, October 13, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I met Phillips “Phil” Armstrong when he was my son’s social studies teacher. Ted would come home and tell us stories at the dinner table about historical figures that aren’t taught in the history books. Phil strove to keep his students engaged in learning rather than just memorizing dates and facts.

After Phil retired from teaching, he was recommended unanimously by our Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners to fill a vacancy on our board.

This month, it’s all about the breasts

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

If this kind of talk makes you uncomfortable, please don’t continue reading.

If you knew of a way to potentially save the life of a woman you love, would you share the information?

According to breastcancer.org, about one in eight women in the United States will develop invasive breast cancer in her lifetime.

In 2016, an estimated 246,660 new cases of invasive breast cancer are expected to be diagnosed in women, along with 61,000 new cases of non-invasive (in situ) breast cancer.

Guest view: Reading your paper is ‘Way to Know’ your community

Thursday, October 6, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Several years ago cyberspace was frenzied over many popular websites going dark for 24 hours to protest a federal bill meant to crack down on video piracy.

The Stop Online Piracy Act — or SOPA — was a controversial and perhaps misguided effort championed by the Motion Picture Association of America to end illegal online sharing of copyrighted material, primarily movies and music.

Another view: Could Crutcher’s death have ended differently?

Thursday, September 29, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Which movement are you with — Black Lives Matter ... All Lives Matter ... Blue Lives Matter? I have friends who relate to each of them. It seems like siding with one of these three movements is becoming like the political party affiliation on your voter registration card.

Me? I understand all points made and their validations. Are there black individuals who are shot and killed when the situation could have been de-escalated and not have ended in a fatality? Definitely. Is the killing of officers to avenge the deaths of those black people OK? Absolutely not.

Another view: Give and you shall receive

Thursday, September 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

When I was a child, I dragged my feet when it was time to clean up my bedroom on Saturday mornings, but somehow I loved the good feeling I experienced when helping my girlfriend clean hers. Volunteering kind of feels like that.

We are so fortunate to live in a country where most of us have a roof over our heads and food in our stomachs.

Most of us have leisure time during our weeks and the physical ability to be useful to others. In our gratitude for the lives we live, how can we not want to reach out and share our good fortune?