Whitehall-Coplay Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Chosen words: Cornucopia of Gratitude

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Gathering the family

We bundle up against harsh winter winds

To travel to Grandma’s house

Whether near or far

Awaiting the feast as family

We are greeted by loved ones

Amongst a warm home filled with love

And by aroma of roast turkey, stuffing and pumpkin pies

The table set with its centerpiece of fruits and nuts

Declares this is a special day of gathering

A national heritage of gratitude

For freedom to worship God

For all the good gifts of life

For the harvest of food, family and friends

Letter to the editor: God bless all who poured out love for Gene Zarayko

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

This letter is sent from a heart that is overflowing with love for all of the residents and friends of my husband, Gene Zarayko, who poured out love for him.

The members of the Northampton Fire Department, Fire Police and Police Department — the awesome honor you all gave him, in the Standing of Guard, the coordination between all to ensure a smooth navigation through town as the funeral procession passed so many projects that Gene had a part in.

Guest view: We all play a role in preventing crime

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

I was pretty sure I had fallen off the radar again — miss one meeting and that happens. You aren’t on the attendance sheet, so you don’t get the meeting’s minutes. The meeting’s minutes have the date of the next meeting, so you don’t show up at the next meeting either. You don’t get the notes from that meeting, and the cycle goes on.

You have successfully fallen off the radar.

Guest view: Strive to embrace small moments of life

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

It’s so easy to become consumed with the hustle and bustle of life — those “things” we believe to be important, meaningful and self sustaining.

It’s often in those times of uncertainty and crisis — whether unexpected or expected — that we begin to ask the wider universal questions related to life. What difference have I made? Who have I impacted? Have I tried to be kind and giving to another?

Another view: A different kind of October surprise

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The news was big.

In an announcement on WCCO, television news reporter Esme Murphy intoned, “It’s simply the right thing to do for the 15,000 people who work here. And it’s good business.”

The reason?

Mall of America, in Bloomington, Minn., a concern billing itself as “the largest retail and entertainment destination in North America,” would not open Thanksgiving Day 2016.

Another view: Poll workers praised for steadfast service

Thursday, November 10, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

By the time you read this, the incredibly emotional and polarizing election season will have concluded with Election Day. I am writing this Sunday night, two days before the election, not knowing the outcome.

I hope each and every one of you went to the polls to cast your votes Tuesday. When you did, you were greeted and assisted by a number of poll workers. These are your neighbors, residents of your borough or township, who work tirelessly twice a year to accurately record your votes.

They do not, I believe, deserve to be accused of attempting to rig an election.

Letter to the editor: False claims about Donate Life PA Act (House Bill 30) must stop

Thursday, November 10, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

On Oct. 27, several Lehigh Valley Press newspapers ran a column and a Guest View op-ed regarding the Donate Life PA Act.

Both stem from the same blatantly false statements made by lobbyist Susan Shanaman on behalf of the state coroners’ association.

I appreciate the opportunity to share the facts about this important legislation.

My name is Bill Hankee. I am the father of a true hero in the eyes of many.

My 22-year-old daughter, Krysta, donated her organs five days after collapsing in a New York gym.

Editor’s view: Enough already: Counting down to Nov. 9

Thursday, November 3, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

We interrupt this program to bring you ... yet another campaign commercial.

Haven’t we seen enough? Don’t we already know every misstep each candidate has taken?

The good news: We have to endure these ads for just a few more days.

The bad news: It is expected they will hit a “fever pitch,” according to researchers, who believe the last-chance campaigning will invade your favorite radio station, your smartphone and even the movie screen at your local theater.