Whitehall-Coplay Press

Friday, October 18, 2019

Living the Vintage Years: In-home care can keep seniors independent

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Sometimes, others’ bad experiences scare us so much we become afraid to try similar endeavors ourselves.

Such was the case with me. I had heard so many horror stories over the years from friends, neighbors and relatives about hiring home-care aides. When I recently was faced with that task, I was paralyzed with fear.

Reports of stolen watches and jewelry, cash and other valuable belongings filled my thoughts, making any meaningful action impossible. It seemed every person I talked to gave me dire warnings.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The healing power of pets

Before Christmas, my family committed to all staying home one night to watch holiday movies together.

As the time neared for the first film to begin, we found our pets had gathered in the living room as well, taking up a good portion of the couches. This is not an exaggeration. We have three dogs — and despite their alleged thinking, none of them is a true lap dog.

This happens pretty often. It’s not unusual to see one of us walk in the room, pause when we see the shortage of comfortable seating and choose to find a spot on the floor instead of moving a napping pet.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is better to give than to receive’

To the Editor:

Everyone gets at least one gift at Christmas, don’t they? Working with the elderly can be an eye opener. Some are considered “orphans,” receiving no guests, no cards and no presents to mark the holiday. As our staff considered this, we began to think about how we could impact the loneliness they may be feeling at this time.

Our plan was named “Be a Santa to a Senior,” or BASTAS.

Another view

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Handcrafted Christmas gifts are made from the heart

Christmas is a time of giving and love. For many, the giving has overpowered the love and hidden the true meaning of the season.

During Christmas, we give gifts to show our loved ones we appreciate them and love having them in our lives. This is why we give. However, with events like Black Friday and Cyber Monday, we, as a society, tend to focus on buying the best new gadgets or getting a great price on those expensive toys. We focus more on what we are buying and not why. The expectation is to buy more and more each year and to continually up the ante.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, December 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Making Christmas memories

“And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.

Another View

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Keep loved ones, pets safe from fire this holiday season

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories and a meal, sing, decorate and exchange gifts.

The holiday season can be especially difficult if a fire were to break out in a home and take the life of a loved one.

According to local media, a body of one man was found following a fire in Whitehall; a second fire this past weekend displaced nine people and killed a dog.

Fighting Hunger: This time of year, reflect on what you’ve done with your life

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

I read a book that a client gave me while I was on vacation recently. The book is titled “Imagine Heaven” by John Burke. The book’s main theme is to take a hard look at your life and see what you have actually done with it. This is an internal reflection of what really is important to you individually. Is it your family, faith, work, awards and accomplishments, social status, helping others including volunteering? The book asks repeatedly, “If you died today (death can come at any age), what have you actually done with your life?”

Editor’s View

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Decluttering is good for our health, happiness

Thank you all who commented on my Oct. 17 Editor’s View on dealing with our Generation Y, Z and millennial family members. It is good to know I am not alone in my frustration with our younger generation not wanting “things” — instead wanting experiences.

Since that Editor’s View, conversations have continued with the fact our children and grandchildren will not want our things when we are gone.

I am a person who sees the value of and appreciates the connection with things from my grandparents that my youngest has already said he will not want.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

When the snow is glistening in the lane, be prepared

You know it is bad when a tweet like this appears in your feed.

“Statewide PENNDOT update. Speed Restrictions. The speed limit has been reduced to 45 mph throughout PA.”

Twitter users received that message Nov. 15 from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation when a powerful snowstorm blasted into the state.

Drivers experienced the pounding weather firsthand.

Area roadways went from snow dusted to covered to dangerously slippery in what seemed like a flash.

Roads and highways closed.

Another View

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering our blessings in these uncertain times

Thank goodness. It is finally Thanksgiving, and Christmas is right around the corner. That means it is publicly acceptable for me to watch the holiday movie “Miracle on 34th Street.” (I may or may not have started to watch this film before Halloween. Don’t ask my husband.)