Whitehall-Coplay Press

Thursday, December 12, 2019

Another View

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Small town America is thriving

I grew up in the sleepy canal town of Freemansburg, on the outskirts of Bethlehem.

I have fond memories of my childhood. Many of the children and teenagers knew each other and spent hours on end in the summer playing on the sidewalks, in the streets and in the surrounding small fields.

We spent summer days fishing down at the canal. We would gather together on one another's front porches throughout the day and into the evening, and talk about life and dream about the future.

Our parents knew each of us and they treated us like we were part of their family.

Another View

Thursday, May 30, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Memorial Day should be for more than just honoring the fallen

Usually, when I watch the evening news on television, the broadcast about the day's events do not bother me.

However, news of a tragic event, either nationally or locally, upsets me.

Last week, when I watched a broadcast about a man bragging about brutally murdering British soldier Lee Rigby of the 2nd Battalion, The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers, on the streets of London, England, I became angry.

The man, covered in blood, waved around a meat clever and knife and bragged about murdering a soldier in broad daylight on a public street.

Guest View

Thursday, May 23, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania's townships continue fight against unfunded mandates

More than 6,500 unfunded mandates have been imposed on Pennsylvania's local governments over the past 30 years.

Township officials, tired of seeing millions of tax dollars wasted every year, came together recently to urge state lawmakers to change the system so that municipalities can put that money to better use, namely to improve roads and other infrastructure.

Editor's View

Thursday, May 23, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Responsible reporting must continue without intervention of the government

Journalists are yet again under attack.

The most recent attack is from the United States Justice Department, which seized cellphone records of Associated Press reporters and editors in the process of investigating what it calls a national security leak.

Associated Press President and Chief Executive Officer Gary Pruitt has called the seizure of records "unconstitutional."

Protect yourself from identity theft or be sorry later

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

If you ask my husband, Facebook will bring about the end of the civilized world as we know it.

While I'm not quite so apocalyptic in my thinking, a recent experience on Facebook really opened my eyes to the value of paying attention to your privacy settings.

As the editor of three local newspapers, the line between work and home is often blurred. Many sources have my office, home and cell numbers. I've written about my life and personal experiences in columns.

Candidates, voters, respect the opposition

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Have we gotten to the point where the opposition has to resort to stealing campaign signs in order to sway the vote?

I am an outsider; I came to visit Coplay from Florida in the midst of this campaign. I know what political mud-slinging is all about. I worked the democratic Presidential campaign as well as local campaigns so I know what can happen when it comes down to the wire!

Guest View

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Saluting nurses at St. Luke's

"Delivering Quality and Innovation in Patient Care," the American Nurses Association 2013 Nurse Week theme, acknowledges the invaluable nursing contributions to quality and innovation across the country.

St. Luke's University Health Network's nurses demonstrate their commitment to quality and innovation each and every day. Whether they practice in primary care, emergency departments, operating rooms, clinics or inpatient nursing units, St. Luke's nurses continually search for ways to improve the safety and outcomes of their care.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.