Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, July 11, 2020

Do you have a conscience?

Thursday, October 31, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The woman's words stick in my mind, conjuring up images of contrasts, not unlike multihued autumn leaves.

When I asked the woman whether she doesn't worry someone will steal the money from the produce stand's "honor" box, she replied, "If they do, they'll lose a lot more than we will."

My husband and I visit that Mennonite farm stand whenever we are in the area, and this was the first time we encountered any member of the family.

LetterS to the Editor

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Turkey Day will always be Homecoming in Catty

To the editor:

As an alumni of Catasauqua High School, I was confused to hear that the football game against Palmerton this past weekend was considered "Homecoming." It has always been regarded, since before time itself began, that the Thanksgiving (Turkey Day) game played against Northampton has been Homecoming for Catasauqua, regardless of whether the game was played at home or away.

Another View

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Tips for keeping children safe on Halloween

Halloween is the one night a year ghosts and goblins come out for spooky fun.

The night is also when children dressed in costumes go trick-or-treating in their neighborhoods.

According to Safe Kids Worldwide, children are more than twice as likely to be hit by a car and killed on Halloween than on any other day of the year.

Last year, a 14-year-old boy was struck and killed while trick-or-treating with a friend along Schantz Road in Upper Macungie Township.

There are several ways parents can help keep children safe this Halloween:

Editor's View

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

School uniforms could be the answer to parents' prayers

If public schools in Pennsylvania were to implement a school uniform requirement, a number of debates would erupt with pros and cons, most likely with parents and students on opposite sides.

When my children were young, I purchased their clothes and shoes at outlets and other discount stores. Those bargains helped an already strained budget which suffered even more at back-to-school time.

Shopping for back-to-school clothes and shoes can cost $500 or more depending on the number of children in the home.

Resident thanks organizer for chairing Properties of Merit

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

This recognition goes to Bill Leiner Jr., not for the best kept property but rather for spearheading a committee that recognizes the citizens of Coplay for their efforts in beautifying and maintaining not only the homes where they dwell but the community we live in. I'm talking about the Properties of Merit program.

It seems when it comes to the people of Coplay, Mr. Leiner's name is associated with everything that says to our citizens, people and the community that his political agenda takes a back seat.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Government shutdown could be tipping point for country's future

With all due respect to Whitehall-Coplay Press Editor Johanna Billings and her concerns regarding Acadia National Park ("Government shutdown hurts in many ways," Oct. 10 edition), the government shutdown began much earlier for families in the Lehigh Valley who have lost their homes to foreclosure over the past four or five years.

The government shutdown will last a lot longer for workers who have been notified by their employers their work hours or even jobs will be cut due to President Barack Obama's not-so-affordable health care.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Government shutdown hurts in many ways

Babies and spoiled brats.

Yep, I'm talking about the members of the United States Congress.

The recent government shutdown is an example of the abysmal failure of our elected officials to behave like responsible adults and work out their differences in a respectable and professional manner.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 municipal election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Your community, your newspaper, your life

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

As newspaper executives struggle over whether the news should be digital first, tablet first, SMS first or print first, readers know exactly what they want their local newspaper to be – community first.

Reading a newspaper is not like reading a novel, a magazine, a history book, poetry, prose or any other type of literature.

Newspapers are not about what has happened in the past, what is happening someplace else or what happens in an author's imagination.

Newspapers are about us.