Whitehall-Coplay Press

Monday, May 20, 2019

Players present 'Best Christmas Pageant Ever'

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

"The Best Christmas Pageant Ever," a one-act show, is being presented by local Christian theater group, Players of the Stage.

Based on Barbara Robinson's work of the same name, the play tells the story of six delinquent children who go to church for the first time after being told there will be snacks served. Despite protests from church members, the youngsters are given roles in the Sunday School's Christmas play.

Laurel Strickland portrays Beth Bradley. Natalie Sampsell plays Grace Bradley.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Congratulations to the team, coaches

To the Editor:

Congratulations to the 130-pound Catty football team for winning the Colonial League championship.

What an accomplishment for a first-year head coach and his team of great assistants.

This is a team that did not even have enough kids to field a team last year and had fewer than 15 players this year.

The 130-pound team lost only one game all season, to Bangor (9-1).

They won the rest of their games, many by the mercy rule.

This team was quite exciting to watch, with 30 plus offensive plays and many defensive schemes.

Legislation accomplishments abound in 2012

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The 2011-12 legislative session wrapped up in November, and before we begin the new session Jan. 1, 2013, I think it is wise to take a look back and see what we have accomplished.

Of course, some years are more productive than others but, this past year, we have been able to make significant progress on several fronts that will help improve the business climate in Pennsylvania, increase safety and protection, and honor our military men and women.

Another View

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Make the holidays memorable for family members with dementia or Alzheimer's

Hanukkah and Christmas are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, laugh, sing, decorate and exchange presents.

For people living with Alzheimer's or dementia, the holidays can be a difficult and stressful time.

I have found with my mother, who was diagnosed several years ago with dementia, this is the time of year when she becomes more depressed.

Governor announces two programs aimed at saving lives

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Governor Tom Corbett announced Nov. 9 PennDOT is launching two voluntary programs aimed at saving the lives of Pennsylvanians in emergency situations – the Yellow Dot and Emergency Contact Information programs.

"Both of these programs speak for people when they can't speak for themselves, so medical concerns can be addressed and contacts can be reached as quickly as possible," Corbett said. "When someone is in a crash or they find themselves in an emergency situation, it's critical that emergency responders quickly find out as much as they can about the victim."

letters to the editor

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Coplay opening doors

To the Editor:

In recent Whitehall-Coplay Press articles, attention was drawn to the unacceptable form of government practiced the past five years in Coplay. A clarification is needed.

Coplay council for decades had seven council committees. Each council member was a chair of a committee. Committees were unwisely increased to 15 committees during the past three years or so.

Editor's view

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Finding ways to be grateful

On Oct. 3, 1789, President George Washington proclaimed the Day of National Thanksgiving.

"Whereas it is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits and humbly to implore his protection and favor," Washington is quoted as writing in his proclamation.

IRS warns consumers of Hurricane Sandy scams

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The Internal Revenue Service issued a consumer alert Nov. 9 about possible scams taking place in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.

Following major disasters, it's common for scam artists to impersonate charities to get money or private information from well-intentioned taxpayers. Such fraudulent schemes may involve contact by telephone, social media, email or in-person solicitations.

The IRS cautions both hurricane victims and people wishing to make disaster-related charitable donations to avoid scam artists by following these tips:

Attend next Catty council meeting

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The Borough of Catasauqua has been in need for some time.

It has been in need of fire, police, fire/police and emergency management stations along with a borough hall. These services are currently housed in divided, substandard and cramped quarters – some even in regular residential garages.

Economic development, downtown revitalization and responsible development of the former FLSmidth site on Front Street are other issues that need resolution as well.

A meatless menu is more than side dishes

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When desserts were being delivered to nearby tables during a recent banquet my husband and I attended, we saw waitresses carrying steaming bowls of cinnamon buns oozing with gooey sauce.

As these tempting goodies reached our table and our tablemates, however, we had to smile when we were handed glass dessert goblets filled with a pretty variety of luscious berries instead of the sweet buns.

We soon figured out why. Apparently we were given the "vegetarian" dessert.