Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, February 24, 2018

Another View

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Firearms do not belong in the hands

The Pennsylvania Senate Education Committee recently approved Senate Bill 383, sponsored by Sen. Don White, R-41st, of Indiana County.

This bill, which would allow school directors to establish a policy for allowing personnel access to firearms in school buildings or on school grounds, would amend the Public School Code of 1949.

Senate Bill 383, which passed the committee with a 9-3 vote, will now go to the full Senate for final approval.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Zanelli is ‘best for future of county’

To the Editor:

The municipal primary is approaching on May 16, in which we will select a new commissioner. If you want the best for the future of Lehigh County, there is only one choice: Amy Zanelli.

Zanelli believes in protecting Lehigh County’s most valuable asset: its people. She has a proven track record of community advocacy and engagement that she will bring to the commissioner position for Lehigh County residents from toddler to elder.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Should girls be allowed in the Boy Scouts of America?

I recently read the story of 15-year-old Sydney Ireland, of New York, who had petitioned the Boy Scouts of America to allow girls into the organization.

Sydney had attended Cub Scouts with her brother “unofficially” since she was very young. She was not able to earn any of the recognition or badges her older brother earned because she is female.

Her brother is now an Eagle Scout.

According to news reports, Sydney went as far as she could with Cub Scouts, later joined the South African Scouts and then achieved the highest rank with the Canadian Scouts.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 municipal primary election, the Catasauqua Press, Northampton Press and Whitehall-Coplay Press — in the interest of fairness — will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 20 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Register to attend L.V. Food Policy Council meeting

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

I recently attended the 2017 Anti-Hunger Conference in Washington, D.C., which was presented by Feeding America (No Kid Hungry) and the Food Research & Action Center (FRAC). More than 1,300 people attended, including food banks, faith-based groups, educators, USDA representatives, attorneys, Boys & Girls Clubs and YMCA representatives, plus many more people who work to feed Americans daily. It was a real eye opener.

FRAC was very strong on the upcoming farm bill legislation. The following is taken from a handout given at the conference on SNAP, one of the programs cited to be cut.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Political experience a must for president

I wonder how the vast majority of President Donald Trump voters and supporters feel about his first couple of months in the White House.

I’ve been pondering such, as the major campaign promises and policy initiatives he confidently said would become a reality, have not materialized — at least not yet.

I admit, I did not vote for Trump. However, after he was elected, I told myself and a select few friends, perhaps we should give him a chance.

another view

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

Fishing: It’s not just about dinner

“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers.” — Herbert Hoover

***

I’ve only gone fishing three times in my life. The opening day of trout season in the Lehigh Valley Saturday got me to thinking, though, about the attraction and significance of the sport.

I only recall going fishing with my father one time. We were on a family vacation, and he took four of us, ranging in age from about 5 to 10, to fish along a creek bank. I was 9.

For well-being, make right move

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I am a person who doesn’t like change.

In our fast-changing world, that’s not a good way to be, I guess — but it’s the way I am. Usually, I don’t think about the subject much, but this past weekend, three things happened that put the focus on change and got my attention.

A friend in New Jersey told me she is selling her home and car and moving to a continuing-care retirement community.

Another friend, who, for financial reasons, had moved to a senior high-rise apartment and hated his new living arrangements, died.

Too much, too little, too soon

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What do you think of when you hear the phrase “overindulged children”? I always thought of kids who had a lot of stuff and opportunities. You know — the kind of kids who rarely hear the word “no” and seem to get everything they want. The kind who act bratty and entitled.

But a recent read of a book called “How Much Is Too Much?” by Jean Illsley Clark, Ph.D., expanded my perception of what overindulgence really is. And to my surprise, my score on a questionnaire I completed in the back of the book classified me as one who unintentionally overindulges my kids a bit.