Whitehall-Coplay Press

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Letter to the editor: Life will never be the same

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Residents who are beginning to complain about the FedEx warehousing activities and other proposed warehouses in Allen Township need to remind themselves that twice voters in Allen Township refused a ballot referendum to preserve farmland and open space. For a small increase in taxes, life might be different, but life will never be the same.

In 30 years, we will be like surrounding townships (Hanover, Bethlehem) with no farms at all.

John Stoffa

Kreidersville

(Editor’s note: Stoffa is a former Northampton County executive.)

Editor’s View: Media coverage of Pearl Harbor brings back memories of war horrors retold

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Watching televised news reports and human interest stories this past week on the 75th anniversary of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, Dec. 7, 1941, immediately brought back memories of the many late nights my mother and I spent holding and listening to my father cry at the kitchen table.

My dad enlisted in the U.S. Navy at the age of 20, following the attack. He served aboard the USS Monitor, a landing ship vehicle-5, crossing the equator Oct. 11, 1944.

Guest view: Family letters provide glimpse of war life

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Recently, I discovered history in a packet of letters my mother had kept since World War II. The timing was perfect. Just when our nation’s brave men and women who served in the military were being honored and celebrated on Veterans Day, I was immersed in the innocent musings of a young soldier who paid the ultimate price for his service.

Robert was killed in action in France at the age of 22. He and I share DNA. He was an uncle I never got to meet.

Another view: Don’t let thieves steal your holiday spirit

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are joyous and festive times.

Whether you are busy baking, decorating your home or shopping for that perfect gift, the holiday shopping season went into full swing on Black Friday.

Thieves also are out shopping for that perfect gift. But instead of in stores, they are “shopping” your vehicle, front porch or inside your home.

Letter to the editor: Pumpkins are better used than rotting

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

There are two fields on opposite sides of Route 248 in Moore Township that are filled with pumpkins. These fields are located about a mile apart. They were harvested on weekdays for about a month. The larger field had four or five tractor trailers backed into it with one truck cab hauling away each trailer when it was fully packed with pumpkins.

The local grapevine states that the larger pumpkins were harvested, and the rest — thousands — were left behind to rot.

Letter to the editor: Town watch groups are in need of dedicated volunteers

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I read with interest a recent “Guest View” piece in The Press. The writer presents frustration that Whitehall Crime Watch has become dormant.

Coplay’s seven-time nationally recognized Town Watch, founded in 1995, has fallen on challenging times during 2016. I was a leader and officer in CTW (Coplay Town Watch) for nearly 20 years. I vacated the leader role in January 2016 due to other responsibilities. I remain a CTW member.

Editor’s view: Thank you to our generous readers

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Many families have someone serving in the military who will not be home this holiday season to celebrate with loved ones.

These individuals are currently serving our country in Kuwait, Afghanistan, Iraq and many other countries around the world. They volunteered to protect and serve our country.

Thanks to the generosity of The Press readers, businesses, fire companies, clubs and others, military personnel will have something to smile about this Christmas.

Chosen words: Cornucopia of Gratitude

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Gathering the family

We bundle up against harsh winter winds

To travel to Grandma’s house

Whether near or far

Awaiting the feast as family

We are greeted by loved ones

Amongst a warm home filled with love

And by aroma of roast turkey, stuffing and pumpkin pies

The table set with its centerpiece of fruits and nuts

Declares this is a special day of gathering

A national heritage of gratitude

For freedom to worship God

For all the good gifts of life

For the harvest of food, family and friends

Letter to the editor: God bless all who poured out love for Gene Zarayko

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

This letter is sent from a heart that is overflowing with love for all of the residents and friends of my husband, Gene Zarayko, who poured out love for him.

The members of the Northampton Fire Department, Fire Police and Police Department — the awesome honor you all gave him, in the Standing of Guard, the coordination between all to ensure a smooth navigation through town as the funeral procession passed so many projects that Gene had a part in.