Whitehall-Coplay Press

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Letter to the editor: Writer supports Zach Mako for state rep

Thursday, September 15, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I am pleased to announce I have decided to formally endorse Zach Mako for state representative in the 183rd Legislative District.

I have found Zach to be an individual of high integrity worthy of your support.

He is a veteran with a high sense of pride in our Armed Forces and commitment to public service.

There is no greater level of public service than to serve and defend one’s country.

As a son of a veteran, a proud father of a combat veteran and a veteran myself, I respect Zach immensely in this regard.

Editor’s view: Being prepared must be part of who we are

Thursday, September 15, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we paused to acknowledge the 15th anniversary Sunday of the Sept. 11 attacks on the United States and honored those who lost their lives that day, we also likely spent a few moments recalling where we were that morning when news stations first reported a plane had hit the World Trade Center (WTC).

I was here in the Lehigh Valley Press office, working with the rest of the staff on deadline. I had dropped off my children at their day care school about an hour earlier. The day started like any other.

Election policy

Thursday, September 15, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the Catasauqua Press, Northampton Press and Whitehall-Coplay Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the Oct. 6 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Guest view: Pa. state parks offer much

Thursday, September 8, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

One of the benefits of living in Pennsylvania is taking advantage of all the lakes, rivers, mountains and scenic areas as well as enjoying outdoor activities, such as fishing, boating, camping, bike riding and hiking. One of the ways in which we preserve these opportunities for residents and visitors alike is through our comprehensive state park system.

Pennsylvania offers a total of 120 state parks that are free to visit and explore.

Guest view: Regardless of why they are hungry, children need to be fed

Thursday, September 8, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Representing my organization at community events is always an enjoyable and enlightening experience. I get to talk with people and find out their perspectives on whatever program or issue we are highlighting that day — be it substance use among young people, exercise for older citizens or healthy eating across the life cycle.

Letter to the editor: Coplay Community Days praised for a good time

Thursday, September 8, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

On Aug. 28, my husband and I went to Coplay Community Days. We were blown away by this event. The food was excellent as were the prices charged for it. We could not believe the bands that played. To top it all off, it was all free.

We talked a lot about this event on the way home and thought how wonderful it was to have a community like Coplay have such an event. It makes us wonder why other communities can’t or won’t go to this extreme.

Editor’s view: God bless America for tolerating Kaepernick’s protest

Thursday, September 8, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

“...Praise the Pow’r that hath made and preserv’d us a nation!

“Then conquer we must, when our cause is just,

“And this be our motto: ‘In God is our trust’

“And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave

“O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!” (Francis Scott Key, 1814)

“... And I’m proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free

“And I won’t forget the men who died, who gave that right to me

“And I’d gladly stand up next to you and defend her still today

“‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land

Guest view: Do you overshare on public Wi-Fi?

Thursday, September 1, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Connecting to the Internet in a public space, such as a coffee shop, the library or an airport, is a wonderful modern convenience, but it comes with significant risks.

On a free public network, using Wi-Fi means you’re potentially sharing your credit card numbers, passwords and other personal information with the world, leaving yourself vulnerable to criminals.

Guest view: Media must ask tough questions

Thursday, September 1, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Is it just me, or has the 2016 U.S. presidential election turned into a farce and mockery? American citizens and voters, since at least the mid-1980s, have become increasingly disappointed and angry with the trajectory of national politics.

This presidential election cycle, however, is like no other, leading traditional voters, as well as previous nonvoters, to more widely express their likes and dislikes of the candidates in a variety of forums, such as social media.

Another view: Will Obamacare survive its latest challenge?

Thursday, September 1, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Millions of Americans rely on Obamacare for health insurance since President Barack Obama signed it into law March 23, 2010.

Officially known as the Affordable Care Act (ACA), Obamacare has progressed over the years — but not without challenges.

In the beginning, the ACA saw some opposition from lawmakers in Washington, D.C., in an effort to overturn or repeal the 1,000-page health care plan since it was unveiled in July 2009.

In 2011, a Florida judge ruled that portions of the ACA were unconstitutional.